YETI vs RTIC Hard Coolers (2026)
YETI Tundra 45 and RTIC 45 QT Ultra-Tough compared on each maker's specs: rotomolding, insulation, capacity, bear certification and warranty, with a Pelican stand-in.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Choose YETI's Tundra 45 if you need a cooler on the Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee's certified list and a published 5-year warranty. Choose RTIC's 45 QT Ultra-Tough for more stated insulation (up to 2.8 in) in the same rotomolded build. YETI had no trusted Amazon seller, so its card is a Pelican Elite 45.
In this guide
- Instead of YETI: lifetime warrantyPelican Elite 45 Quart Cooler with WheelsFrom the listing · not tested
The YETI Tundra 45 and RTIC's 45 QT Ultra-Tough are the same kind of cooler: a rotomolded hard box with thick foam walls, built to live on a boat. The differences are the numbers each maker publishes, one certification, and the warranty.
How we chose: we did not test these coolers; specs come from YETI's product page and the Amazon listings. On September 29, 2026 YETI coolers on Amazon were sold only by a storefront called "YETI Authorized," not by Amazon.com or a YETI store, so the YETI card is a Pelican stand-in sold by Amazon.com.
YETI Tundra 45 vs RTIC 45 QT Ultra-Tough, spec by spec
| YETI Tundra 45 | RTIC 45 QT Ultra-Tough | Pelican Elite 45 (stand-in) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Construction | Rotomolded | Rotomolded | Not stated on the listing |
| Insulation | Up to 3 in PermaFrost polyurethane | Up to 2.8 in closed-cell foam | 2 in polyurethane |
| Gasket | ColdLock "freezer-quality" | Not stated for this size | 360° freezer-grade |
| Exterior | 25.6 × 15.9 × 15.5 in | 26.2 × 17.7 × 15.4 in | Not given reliably |
| Interior | 18.3 × 9.4 × 10.7 in | Not published | "True 45 quart" |
| Capacity | 54 cans or 37 lb of ice | Up to 60 cans | 45 qt |
| Empty weight | 24.6 lb | 29.5 lb or 21.1 lb (listing gives both) | 42.9 lb with wheels |
| Drain | Vortex drain | Not stated | Leak-proof drain plug |
| IGBC certified | Yes, No. 3701 | No | No |
| Warranty | 5 years | Not confirmed (see below) | Lifetime, per the listing |
| Sold by | YETI Authorized (not linked) | RTIC Outdoors | Amazon.com |
| Amazon price | — | $239.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)Check price | $463.45 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
YETI's figures are from its Tundra 45 page. RTIC's and Pelican's are from their Amazon listings. The RTIC exterior size is the listing's dimension data; RTIC does not publish an interior size for the 45.
Construction and insulation
Both are rotomolded, which means the shell is molded in one piece rather than welded or screwed together. YETI calls it "rotomolded construction for virtually indestructible protection" and pairs it with "up to three inches of PermaFrost Insulation," which it describes as pressure-injected polyurethane.
RTIC's 45 QT listing says it is "rotomolded" with "up to 2.8 inches of closed-cell foam insulation." Both figures say "up to," so neither is the thickness of every wall.
The lid seal matters as much as the foam. YETI names a ColdLock "freezer-quality gasket." RTIC's 45 qt listing does not mention a gasket, though its 65 qt Ultra-Tough listing describes "a freezer-style gasket." Pelican lists a 360-degree freezer-grade gasket on the Elite.
Ice claims: what each maker says
Neither maker puts a day figure on the 45 qt size. YETI says the Tundra will "keep your contents ice-cold even in sweltering conditions." Its Amazon listing recommends a 2:1 ice-to-contents ratio, which is why the page gives two capacities: 54 cans with no ice, or 37 lb of ice alone.
RTIC's 45 QT listing promises "long-lasting ice retention." The only RTIC day count we found is on its 65 QT Ultra-Tough listing: "up to 7 days when following RTIC Cooling Tips." Pelican's Elite listing says "extreme ice retention" with no number.
So neither side gives you a figure to compare. Wall thickness, the gasket and how often you open the lid are what you can actually weigh. Our fishing cooler guide covers FDA's 40°F rule for keeping fish.
Bear-resistant certification
This is where YETI has something RTIC lacks. YETI's page lists a "Bearproof design," "IGBC approved when used with extra-long shank Master Lock Padlocks." The Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee's certified products list, current as of July 31, 2026, includes "Tundra Cooler 45 - IGBC Certification No. 3701."
The same list says coolers "require use of bolts and nuts or appropriately-sized padlocks to be bear-resistant," and that certification "does not guarantee that a grizzly bear will never gain entry." No RTIC or Pelican cooler appears on it. For a coastal angler this rarely matters; for a trip that ends at a campsite in grizzly country, it can.
Warranty
YETI's page lists a 5-Year Warranty on the Tundra 45. Pelican's Elite listing says it "includes Pelican's legendary lifetime" guarantee: "you break it, we replace it. Forever!"
We could not confirm RTIC's current warranty. RTIC's website did not load for us on September 29, 2026, and the Amazon listing does not state a term. Check RTIC's warranty page before you buy if the warranty decides it for you.
Recalls
We found no CPSC recall of YETI, RTIC or Pelican hard coolers in our recall tracker. The one YETI recall since 2023 covered about 1.9 million Hopper M30 and M20 soft coolers and SideKick Dry cases, over magnet closures that can detach (March 2023). The CPSC notice names soft coolers and gear cases only.
Who each one suits
Choose the YETI Tundra 45 if:
- you need an IGBC-certified cooler for bear country;
- you want YETI's published interior dimensions and 5-year warranty;
- you can buy from YETI directly, since Amazon had no YETI-run seller.
Choose the RTIC 45 QT Ultra-Tough if:
- you want the thickest stated wall of the two in a rotomolded box;
- a bottle opener and lid cargo net are useful to you;
- you do not need bear certification.
Choose the Pelican Elite 45 if you would buy YETI for toughness and want a lifetime guarantee, a drain plug and a measuring board on the lid, and you do not mind the weight.
Related: saltwater fillet knives and corrosion-resistant fishing pliers.
The products in this guide
In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Rotomolded 45 qt, more foam
RTIC 45 QT Ultra-Tough Hard Cooler
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want the rotomolded build and the thicker stated wall.
Pros
- + Rotomolded, with up to 2.8 in of closed-cell foam insulation, per the listing
- + Fits up to 60 cans; built-in bottle opener and a silicone cargo net in the lid
- + Sold in 20, 45, 65, 110 and 145 qt sizes
Cons
- - The listing gives two empty weights (29.5 lb and 21.1 lb) and no day count for ice
Instead of YETI: lifetime warranty
Pelican Elite 45 Quart Cooler with Wheels
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you would pick YETI for durability and want a lifetime guarantee.
Pros
- + 2 in of polyurethane insulation and a 360-degree freezer-grade gasket, per the listing
- + Leak-proof drain plug, lid measuring board in inches and centimeters, molded-in tie-down slots
- + Made in the USA with Pelican's lifetime guarantee, per the listing
Cons
- - 42.9 lb listed weight with wheels; not on the IGBC certified list
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is there no YETI product card?
Our rule is to link only listings sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store. On September 29, 2026 every YETI hard cooler we checked on Amazon was sold by "YETI Authorized," a storefront not in YETI's own name, so we compared YETI from its own site and gave the card to Pelican.
Is a padlock enough to make the Tundra 45 bear-resistant?
YETI says the Tundra is IGBC approved "when used with extra-long shank Master Lock Padlocks." The IGBC list says coolers need bolts and nuts or appropriately sized padlocks; without them, the cooler is not certified bear-resistant.
How much ice should go in a 45 qt cooler?
YETI recommends a 2:1 ratio of ice to contents on its Amazon listing, which leaves room for about 26 cans in the Tundra 45. Its page says the empty cooler holds 37 lb of ice alone.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 29, 2026.
- yeti.com: Tundra 45 page
- igbconline.org: Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee's certified products list
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Magnet closures that can detach
SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Specs are the makers' own, from YETI's product page and the Amazon listings.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

