Plano vs Flambeau Tackle Boxes (2026)
Plano's Rustrictor boxes against Flambeau's Zerust Tuff Tainers, size for size: gasket and latches, the IPX7 rating, where the rust inhibitor sits and where each is made.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Choose Plano if you want the one published rating: its Waterproof StowAway 3700 is IPX7, 1 m for 30 minutes, and the EDGE boxes add a desiccant divider. Choose Flambeau if you want three latches on a silicone gasket, inhibitor dividers throughout and a box made in the U.S.A.
In this guide
- Boxes that ride in a wet hatchPlano StowAway 3700 Waterproof Tackle BoxFrom the listing · not tested
Plano and Flambeau make most of the clear plastic tackle boxes on a saltwater boat, and both now build a rust inhibitor into them. The real differences are how each box seals, where the inhibitor sits, and whether there is a rating behind the word "waterproof." Here they are paired size for size.
How we chose: we did not test these boxes; we paired three sizes from each maker and compared what Plano's and Flambeau's pages and listings state. All six were sold by Amazon.com and in stock on October 1, 2026.
Plano vs Flambeau, size for size
| Seal | Latches | Rust inhibitor | Rating | Outside size (in) | Made in | Sold by | Amazon price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plano EDGE 3600 | Dri-Loc O-ring | 1 | Rustrictor in base, desiccant divider | None stated | 11 x 7.25 x 1.63 | Not stated | Amazon.com | $24.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:44 PM UTC)Check price |
| Flambeau WP4005 | Silicone O-ring | 3 | 11 Zerust dividers | None stated | 10.79 x 7.20 x 1.89 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | $9.88 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:44 PM UTC)Check price |
| Plano StowAway 3700 Waterproof | O-ring | 1 | Rustricor | IPX7 | 14 x 7.3 x 1.8 | Not stated | Amazon.com | $17.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:45 PM UTC)Check price |
| Flambeau WP5005 | Silicone O-ring | 3 | 15 Zerust dividers | None stated | 14 x 8.89 x 2.1 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | $11.88 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:44 PM UTC)Check price |
| Plano StowAway 3600 Rustricor | None | 1 | Rustricor | None | 10.8 x 7.3 x 1.8 | Not stated | Amazon.com | $7.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:45 PM UTC)Check price |
| Flambeau Zerust MAX 4004ZM | None stated | Not stated | Zerust in the whole box | None | 11 x 7.25 x 1.75 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | $7.70 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:44 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
The seal: one rating against three latches
Only one box in either lineup comes with an IP code. Plano's Waterproof StowAway 3700 page says the O-ring gasket gives it an "IPX7 waterproof rating," which the Amazon listing spells out as submersion in up to 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes. That is a test you can hold the box to.
Flambeau's answer is hardware. Both waterproof Tuff Tainers close a silicone O-ring gasket with three latches, which Flambeau's listings say "create a watertight seal." Plano's sealed boxes each use one oversized latch. Three latches spread the clamping along the lid; Flambeau still publishes no depth or time for the result.
The EDGE 3600 sits in between. Plano's EDGE 3600 page describes a Dri-Loc watertight seal "to maintain waterproofing when closed," without an IP code. What it adds is a WaterWick divider with a reusable moisture-wicking packet, the only desiccant built into any box here.
Rustrictor vs Zerust: where the inhibitor sits
Both brands use a vapor corrosion inhibitor (VCI) that gives off a vapor and coats bare metal inside the box. Plano's listing for its Rustrictor StowAway 3500 calls it "360 degrees of Vapor Corrosion Inhibitor"; on the EDGE boxes Plano says Rustrictor is infused in the base. The newer StowAways are listed as "Rustricor," and Plano does not say whether that is the same formula.
Flambeau puts Zerust in the dividers of its standard Tuff Tainers: 11 in the WP4005, 15 in the WP5005. On its Zerust MAX line, the listing says the VCI is "fully-infused into the box," and Flambeau states a minimum of five years' protection. Plano gives no service life for Rustrictor on these boxes.
Flambeau's Zerust FAQ explains the catch that applies to both. The protective layer holds only while there is "no significant, continuous exchange of air," ideally less than one air exchange a day, and it dissipates from metal within about an hour of leaving the box. A box left open on the console is doing little.
Sizes, and which bag they fit
The names hide matching sizes. Plano's 3600 series and Flambeau's 4000-series Tuff Tainers are both about 11 by 7.25 in, and Plano's 3700 and the Flambeau WP5005 are both 14 in long. The Flambeau is the wider of the two big boxes, 8.89 in against Plano's 7.3, so it may not slide into a bag sized for 3700 trays.
The EDGE 3600 is the thinnest mid-size box here at 1.63 in; the WP4005 is 1.89 in deep. For hooks and small jigs the depth matters little. For plugs, the deeper Flambeau holds taller baits upright. Our saltwater tackle bags and boxes guide covers the bags these trays ride in.
Warranty and where they are made
Flambeau's listings for the WP4005, the WP5005 and the Zerust MAX 4004ZM each say "Proudly Made in the U.S.A." Plano's listing for its Rustrictor StowAway 3500 says made in the USA, but none of the Plano listings for the boxes in this comparison say where they are made.
Plano's product pages list a Plano Exclusive 1-Year Warranty. We found no warranty statement for these Tuff Tainers on Flambeau's listings.
Who each one suits
- Sealed box in a wet boat: Plano's StowAway 3700 Waterproof, for the IPX7 rating.
- Sealed box, inhibitor throughout: Flambeau's WP4005 or WP5005, for the three latches and Zerust dividers.
- Humid garage or boat storage: the EDGE 3600, for the desiccant divider.
- Long-term storage of hooks and jigs: Flambeau's Zerust MAX, or Plano's plain Rustricor StowAway if the box stays on a shelf.
None of this replaces rinsing and drying first. Our tackle rust prevention guide sets out that routine, including Flambeau's warning that wet parts in a Zerust box will still corrode.
We found no recalls for Plano or Flambeau in our recall list, which covers CPSC notices since 2023.
Related: Pelican vs Plano dry boxes, dry boxes for boats.
The products in this guide
In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Head to head: Pelican vs Plano Dry Boxes (2026)Mid-size box with a desiccant
Plano EDGE 3600 Tackle Utility Box
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want a 3600 box that pulls moisture out as well as sealing.
Pros
- + Dri-Loc O-ring seal and a WaterWick divider with a reusable moisture-wicking packet, per Plano
- + Rustrictor inhibitor infused in the base; vented, pre-cut dividers with EZ Label tabs
- + 11 x 7.25 x 1.63 in, steel-pin hinges and one oversized latch
Cons
- - Plano gives the EDGE's seal no IP code or depth
Mid-size box, three latches
Flambeau WP4005 Tuff Tainer with Zerust
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you trust three latches over one and want inhibitor in every divider.
Pros
- + Silicone O-ring gasket closed by three latches, per Flambeau
- + 11 Zerust dividers, up to 16 compartments; translucent lid and base
- + 10.79 x 7.20 x 1.89 in; made in the U.S.A., per the listing
Cons
- - No IP code or depth published, so the seal has no rating to compare
Boxes that ride in a wet hatch
Plano StowAway 3700 Waterproof Tackle Box
From the listing · not testedBuy it if the box may go underwater and you want a tested rating on it.
Pros
- + IPX7 rating with an O-ring seal: submersion to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano
- + Rustricor corrosion-resistant technology and a large reusable label area
- + 14 x 7.3 x 1.8 in, clear lid, single latch
Cons
- - One latch holds the whole seal; Plano does not say how Rustricor works
Large box for lures and hooks
Flambeau WP5005 Tuff Tainer with Zerust
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want the big size with inhibitor dividers and three latches.
Pros
- + Silicone O-ring gasket and three latches, per Flambeau
- + 15 Zerust dividers (12 short, 3 long), up to 20 compartments
- + 14 x 8.89 x 2.1 in; made in the U.S.A., per the listing
Cons
- - Wider than Plano's 3700, so check it fits your bag; no IP code
Dry storage at home
Plano StowAway 3600 with Rustricor
From the listing · not testedBuy it if the box lives on a shelf and you want inhibitor at the lowest fuss.
Pros
- + Rustricor technology for fresh or salt water, per the listing
- + 10.8 x 7.3 x 1.8 in with rigid pre-cut dividers and extra divider slots
- + Clear lid and a reusable label area
Cons
- - No gasket; this is a storage box, not a sealed one
Hooks and jigs in long storage
Flambeau Zerust MAX 4004ZM Tuff Tainer
From the listing · not testedBuy it if hooks and jigs sit for months and you want inhibitor in every wall.
Pros
- + Zerust infused into the whole box, not just the dividers, per Flambeau
- + Flambeau states a minimum of 5 years' protection
- + 11 x 7.25 x 1.75 in, 15 removable dividers and a partial bulk section; made in the U.S.A.
Cons
- - No gasket mentioned; the vapor only works while the lid stays shut
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I put a Zerust divider in a Plano box?
Yes. Flambeau sells a stand-alone Zerust Plaque (it is in our rust prevention guide), and its FAQ says the vapor works in any enclosure with few air exchanges, so a gasketed Plano is a good home for one.
Do these boxes float?
Neither maker says. Plano's IPX7 rating covers water getting in during a 1 m, 30-minute immersion, not whether the box floats, and Flambeau publishes no buoyancy figure for its Tuff Tainers.
Is Rustricor the same as Rustrictor?
Plano does not say. The older StowAway and EDGE listings use "Rustrictor"; the redesigned StowAway listings use "Rustricor" and describe it as corrosion-resistant technology, without calling it a VCI.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked October 1, 2026.
- planooutdoors.com: Waterproof StowAway 3700 page
- planooutdoors.com: EDGE 3600 page
- flambeauoutdoors.com: Zerust FAQ
SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.





