Skip to content
Tools & Catch Care6 min read5 products compared

Cast Nets for Bait (2026)

Five cast nets for catching your own bait, compared on radius, mesh and lead per foot, plus the Florida and Texas size limits you need to check first.

By the SaltProofLab Editorial TeamHow we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

To learn on, the Drasry 4 ft net is light, with 3/8 in mesh and 1.1 lb of zinc-iron weight per foot. For pilchards and mullet from a boat or dock, the Juju 8 ft sinks on 1.25 lb of lead per foot. For small bait, BasicGear's Pancake has 1/4 in mesh.

In this guide

  1. Learning to throwDrasry Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in Mesh, 4 ft RadiusFrom the listing · not tested
    $22.79 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  2. Rust-resistant weightsBasicGear Cast Net, Zinc Iron, 6 ft Radius, 3/8 in MeshFrom the listing · not tested
    $35.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  3. Nets that stay tidy on deckBASSDASH American Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in MeshFrom the listing · not tested
    $59.98 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
Man in a teal shirt and cap standing thigh-deep in calm gray water, a cast net opening into a wide oval above his head

Catching your own bait comes down to three numbers on a cast net's label (radius, mesh size and weight per foot) and one question for your state: how big a net is legal where you throw it.

How we chose: we did not test these nets; sizes and weights come from the makers' Amazon listings, and each was sold by the brand's own store and in stock on September 30, 2026.

Five cast nets side by side

Net Radius Mesh Weight, per maker Sold by Amazon price
Drasry 4 ft 4 ft 3/8 in 1.1 lb/ft zinc-iron Drasry-u $22.79 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
BasicGear Zinc Iron 6 ft 6 ft 3/8 in Zinc-iron, per ft not stated BasicGearTackle $35.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Bassdash American 4, 6 or 8 ft 3/8 in 1 lb/ft, plastic-covered Bassdash-US $59.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Juju 8 ft 8 ft 3/8 in 1.25 lb/ft lead JUJU Tackle Company $269.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
BasicGear Pancake 6 ft 6 ft 1/4 in 1.25 lb/ft lead BasicGearTackle $88.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

Radius, mesh and weight: reading the label

Radius is the net's length from the horn at the center to the lead line. It sets how much water the net covers and how hard it is to throw. Juju calls 7 to 8 ft "the easiest starting point for shore, pier, and dock casting" and 10 to 12 ft the size for deeper water "once you've got the technique down."

Mesh is measured as the square's side. Bassdash says 3/8 in suits "small to medium baits (3in. or longer)." BasicGear's Pancake drops to 1/4 in for bait that would slip through.

Weight per foot is the lead line's weight for each foot of radius. More weight sinks faster and closes the bottom before bait escapes, which Juju and Drasry both give as the reason. It also makes a bigger net heavier to throw.

Man standing in shallow water mid-throw, a white cast net spreading into a wide circle around him
A good throw opens the net flat before the lead line hits the water.

Lead, zinc-iron or covered weights

Most nets carry lead. Juju and BasicGear's Pancake say "real lead," and Drasry's other 3/8 in net uses "pure lead sinkers."

Two nets here skip bare lead. BasicGear's Zinc Iron net uses "galvanized zinc iron sinkers for rust resistance (with proper care)," and Drasry's 4 ft uses zinc-iron at 1.1 lb per foot. Bassdash covers its weights in plastic.

Check your state's rules before you throw

Cast net rules are set by each state and differ by species, water and season. Two examples:

Texas. The Texas Parks and Wildlife legal-devices page says a cast net "may not be greater than 14 feet in diameter," is legal "only for taking nongame fish and other aquatic animal life including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp," and that "in salt water, nongame fish may be taken for bait purposes only."

By the makers' radius sizing, a 7 ft net spreads 14 ft across, so the 8 ft nets here are over the Texas line.

Florida. For recreational shrimping, FWC allows a "cast net with a stretched length (the distance from the horn at the center of the net, with the net gathered and pulled taut, to the lead line) no greater than 14 feet." Its mullet rules list cast nets as legal gear for mullet.

Other states have their own limits and closed areas. Check your state's current saltwater regulations, and your license requirements, before your first throw.

Where each net fits

  • Learning, or throwing from a kayak or a small dock: the Drasry 4 ft, the smallest net here, which Drasry pitches at first-timers.
  • Wading flats and beaches: a 6 ft net with 3/8 in mesh, the BasicGear Zinc Iron or the Bassdash in 6 ft.
  • Boats and seawalls with deeper water: the Juju 8 ft, where the rules allow it.
  • Glass minnows and small shrimp: the BasicGear Pancake's 1/4 in mesh.
Silhouette of a man on wet sand at golden hour throwing a cast net that opens against the glare
On a beach, a 6 ft net covers more water than a 4 ft and is still manageable to throw.

Once the bait is in the bucket, it needs air. Our guide to live bait aerators and buckets covers rechargeable and battery aerators and insulated buckets. Rinse the net in fresh water after each trip; our anti-corrosion sprays guide covers the swivel.

Caring for a cast net between trips

The makers' own extras tell you what wears out. BasicGear and Drasry ship repair line and a tool with their nets, so expect to mend torn mesh yourself. Juju includes "a breathable storage bag to keep your net dry between trips." BasicGear's rust claim for its zinc-iron weights comes with a condition: "with proper care."

That care is simple: rinse the net, lead line and swivel in fresh water, let the net dry open, then store it in its box or bag.

Nets we left out

Betts and Fitec nets were sold on Amazon only by resellers such as Hunter's Bundle, Profline and UnbeatableSale when we checked. Calusa nets were sold by "Calusa Trading," and we could not confirm it is Calusa's own store. Best Fisher's nets were sold by PFS Products, a different name from the brand.

We found no CPSC recall of cast nets from these brands in our recall tracker.

The products in this guide

In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.

Learning to throw

Drasry Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in Mesh, 4 ft Radius

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you are new to cast nets and want something light to learn on.

Pros

  • + Zinc-iron sinkers at 1.1 lb per foot, per the listing
  • + Copolymer monofilament mesh, 0.3 mm thick; 32 ft braided hand rope
  • + Neoprene wrist strap, repair line and tool, and a net bag included

Cons

  • - A 4 ft radius covers less water than the 6 and 8 ft nets
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$22.79 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Rust-resistant weights

BasicGear Cast Net, Zinc Iron, 6 ft Radius, 3/8 in Mesh

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want a 6 ft net without lead in the weights.

Pros

  • + Galvanized zinc-iron sinkers that BasicGear says resist rust with proper care
  • + Reinforced nylon monofilament, double lead line, stainless swivel
  • + Instructions, repair kit and a utility box included

Cons

  • - Weight per foot is not stated on the listing
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$35.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Nets that stay tidy on deck

BASSDASH American Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in Mesh

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want covered weights and a hand line that floats.

Pros

  • + 1 lb of plastic-covered weight per radius foot, per Bassdash
  • + Hand-made six-panel construction; 316 stainless swivel and ABS horn
  • + 32.8 ft floating hand line with a comfort cuff; utility bucket included

Cons

  • - The listing covers 4, 6 and 8 ft radii; check the size you select
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$59.98 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Pilchards and mullet from a boat

JUJU Saltwater Cast Net, 8 ft Radius, 3/8 in Mesh

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you can already throw and want more water per cast.

Pros

  • + 1.25 lb of real lead per foot for a fast sink, per Juju
  • + Hand-tied six-panel net with 100 lb braille lines and a double lead line
  • + 30 ft hand line; 3.5 gal bucket, storage bag and a how-to book included

Cons

  • - An 8 ft radius is over the Texas 14 ft diameter cap
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$269.00 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Small bait, 1/4 in mesh

BasicGear Pancake Cast Net, 6 ft Radius, 1/4 in Mesh

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if your bait is small enough to slip through 3/8 in mesh.

Pros

  • + 1/4 in mesh for small baitfish; 1.25 lb per foot, per the title
  • + Real lead sinkers on a double lead line; stainless swivel
  • + Repair kit and storage box included

Cons

  • - Fine mesh sinks slower than 3/8 in, and lead needs careful handling
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$88.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Frequently Asked Questions

What size cast net should a beginner buy?

The makers disagree. Drasry and BasicGear pitch their nets at beginners and sell them from 4 ft; Juju, whose line starts at 7 ft, calls 7 to 8 ft the easiest starting point for shore, pier and dock casting. In Texas, stay at 7 ft or under.

How long is the hand line?

It varies: 30 ft on the Juju, 32 ft on the Drasry and 32.8 ft on the Bassdash, per the listings. Bassdash describes its line as floating.

Can I use a cast net for game fish in Texas?

No. Texas Parks and Wildlife limits cast nets to nongame fish and other aquatic life such as crabs and shrimp, and in salt water, nongame fish taken with one are for bait only.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 30, 2026.

  1. tpwd.texas.gov: Texas Parks and Wildlife legal-devices page
  2. myfwc.com: FWC
  3. myfwc.com: Mullet rules

SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Regulations are quoted from Texas Parks and Wildlife and the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission as of September 30, 2026.

cast netbait netthrow netcast net sizecast net meshlive bait

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.