Kayak Lights and Flags for Fishing (2026)
What the Navigation Rules require of a kayak after sunset, how a motor changes that, and 360° light-and-flag poles and portable kits sold by Amazon or the maker.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
For a paddle or pedal kayak, a telescoping pole with an all-round white LED and an orange flag, such as Xprite's (IP67, 26.5 to 59.4 in), covers night and day in one mount. Add a motor and the boat is power-driven; attwood's All-Craft kit adds the red and green sidelights.
In this guide
- Long nights on one set of batteriesTavaray Kayak Lights with Orange Flag Pole KitFrom the listing · not tested
- Shorter pole for low-profile kayaksViswiker 360° Kayak Light with Retractable Pole and Orange FlagFrom the listing · not tested
Kayak anglers who launch before dawn or fish the evening tide share the water with boats whose drivers are looking for lights, not a low deck and a paddle. The federal rule for a paddle craft is lighter than most people expect; the rule for a kayak with a motor is not. A flag helps in daylight, and in some states more is required.
How we chose: we did not test these lights; we read the Navigation Rules and the Coast Guard's boater guide, then picked kits whose listings state a rating and mounting options, sold by Amazon.com or the maker and in stock on September 30, 2026.
Four light kits compared
| Kit | Lights | Waterproof rating (per listing) | Pole or mount | Run time (per listing) | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Xprite flag with 360° light | All-round white, 3 modes | IP67 | 26.5–59.4 in; track, pole, base | Not stated | Amazon.com | $53.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:45 PM UTC)Check price |
| Tavaray light and flag kit | All-round white, 2 modes | IP67 | 55.5 in; track, pole, base | Up to 75 h (low) | Amazon.com | $59.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:45 PM UTC)Check price |
| Viswiker 360° light and flag | All-round white, 2 modes | IP67 | 24.9–55.5 in; track, pole, base | Up to 75 h | Viswiker | $52.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:45 PM UTC)Check price |
| attwood All-Craft kit | Red/green bow, white stern | Water-resistant | Clamp mounts, threaded pole | 150+ h | Amazon.com | $65.90 (Amazon, as of Sep 30, 2026, 1:44 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
What the Navigation Rules say for a paddle craft
Rule 25(d)(ii) of the Navigation Rules covers a vessel under oars, the category a paddled canoe or kayak falls under. It "may exhibit the lights prescribed in this rule for sailing vessels," meaning sidelights and a sternlight. If it does not, it "shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision."
The Inland Rules add one option: the paddle craft may instead "exhibit an all around white light." Inland Rules apply on most bays, rivers and harbors inside the demarcation lines; the International Rules apply beyond them. A 360° white light on a pole meets the Inland wording and does the flashlight's job without needing a free hand.
Rule 20 sets the hours. Lights "shall be complied with from sunset to sunrise," and also shown "from sunrise to sunset in restricted visibility," so a fog bank at noon counts.
Add a motor and the rules change
The Coast Guard's Boater's Guide to the Federal Requirements is blunt: "A sailing vessel or human-powered vessel (Canoe/Kayak/SUP) under mechanical propulsion is considered a power-driven vessel." A trolling motor or a small outboard puts your kayak under the power-driven rules.
Under Rule 23, a power-driven boat under 12 meters may show an all-round white light plus sidelights. That means a red and green bow light as well as the white pole light, which is what kits like attwood's All-Craft add. The flashlight-only option in Rule 25 no longer applies once the motor is on.
Is a flag required?
Not by federal rule. The same Coast Guard guide says the Coast Guard "does not regulate anchors, paddles, rearview mirrors, or diver/ski flags." A flag is a daytime visibility aid: orange on a pole puts color at a boat driver's eye level when a sit-on-top kayak barely shows above a chop.
States can and do add rules. Florida's FWC, for example, lists the equipment for canoes, kayaks and vessels under 16 feet and points paddlers to Navigation Rules 20 to 25 for lights. Check your state's boating agency before relying on the federal minimum.
Key point: mount the light so your body doesn't block it. A 360° light behind the seat at shoulder height is hidden from the bow side when you lean forward; raise the pole above your head.
Picking a light
For a paddle or pedal kayak, the Xprite, Tavaray and Viswiker kits do the same job: an all-round white LED on a telescoping pole with an orange flag, three mounting methods and an IP67 rating per their listings. Pick the Xprite if you want a flashing mode and the tallest pole, the Tavaray for its stated 75 hours on low, and the Viswiker if you want a pole that stows shorter.
For a kayak with a motor, add red and green sidelights. The attwood All-Craft kit runs on AAA batteries with clamp mounts and a threaded stern pole; its listing calls it water-resistant and gives no IP rating, so keep spares dry.
YakAttack's VisiCarbon Pro and Railblaza's visibility kits are popular with kayak anglers, but only third-party sellers offered them on Amazon when we checked.
Other night gear the rules touch
Paddlers on coastal waters still need night distress signals after dark. The Coast Guard guide says manually propelled boats "are not required to carry day signals, but must carry night signals when operating from sunset to sunrise." Our required safety equipment guide covers what counts, and the kayak fishing PFD guide covers the life jacket to wear with it.
Related: kayak fishing accessories for track mounts and rod holders that share the rail with a light pole, and waterproof headlamps for rigging and landing fish in the dark.
The products in this guide
In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Paddle and pedal kayaks
Xprite Kayak Safety Flag with 360° LED Light
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want the light, the flag and three mounting options in one kit.
Pros
- + All-round white LED with low, high and flashing modes on 3 AAA batteries, per the listing
- + Pole telescopes from 26.5 to 59.4 in; track, pole or included base mount
- + IP67 rating, aluminum pole, 19.7 x 5.5 in orange flag that doubles as the storage bag
Cons
- - Run time is not stated; batteries not included
Long nights on one set of batteries
Tavaray Kayak Lights with Orange Flag Pole Kit
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you fish all night and want the longest stated run time.
Pros
- + 360° white LED with two brightness settings, per the listing
- + Up to 75 hours on low from 3 AAA batteries, per the listing
- + IP67 rating; track, pole or base mounting; 55.5 in tall
Cons
- - No flashing mode listed
Shorter pole for low-profile kayaks
Viswiker 360° Kayak Light with Retractable Pole and Orange Flag
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want the same pole-light setup that stows shorter.
Pros
- + IP67 rating, aluminum pole adjusting from 24.9 to 55.5 in, per the listing
- + High and low modes, up to 75 hours on 3 AAA batteries
- + Track, pole-bracket or base mounting with hardware included
Cons
- - No flashing mode listed
Kayaks with a motor
attwood 14196-7 All-Craft Portable Navigation Light Kit
From the listing · not testedBuy it if your kayak runs a trolling motor or outboard after dark.
Pros
- + Red/green bow light and white stern light for boats without 12V, per the listing
- + Quick-release All-Craft mounts and a threaded pole
- + 150+ hours on three AAA batteries, per the listing
Cons
- - Listed as water-resistant, not given an IP rating
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a pedal kayak count as power-driven?
No, pedals are human power. The Coast Guard guide makes a kayak power-driven only when it is "under mechanical propulsion," such as a motor. A pedal drive leaves you under Rule 25's paddle-craft option.
Is a headlamp enough to meet Rule 25?
A white "electric torch" ready at hand meets the International wording if you show it in time to prevent a collision. A headlamp points where you look, though, and a boat approaching from behind may never see it. That is why most kayak anglers mount a 360° light instead.
Do I need lights at dawn before sunrise?
Yes. Rule 20 requires lights from sunset to sunrise, so a pre-dawn launch is covered. They are also required in daylight in restricted visibility.
Can I leave a strobe flashing all night?
Not as a navigation light. Under the Inland Rules, a white light flashing 50 to 70 times a minute is a distress signal, per the Coast Guard guide. Keep flashing modes for an emergency and run the steady white light.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked October 1, 2026.
- U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Center: Navigation Rules
- U.S. Coast Guard Boating Safety: Boater's Guide to the Federal Requirements
- myfwc.com: Equipment for canoes, kayaks and vessels under 16 feet
SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.



