Skip to content
Dry Bags & Cases6 min read4 products compared

Pelican vs Plano Dry Boxes (2026)

Pelican micro and Protector cases against Plano Guide Series boxes on what each maker states: submersion rating, pressure valve, buoyancy, interior size and warranty.

By the SaltProofLab Editorial TeamHow we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

Choose Pelican if you want a named IP67 rating, an automatic pressure valve, a published buoyancy figure and a lifetime guarantee. Choose Plano's Guide Series if you want more room inside for the size and a clear lid; Plano rates it to 1 m for 30 minutes but lists no IP code, valve or buoyancy.

In this guide

  1. Keys and phone, smallest shellPelican 1040 Micro CaseFrom the listing · not tested
    $28.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  2. Small clear box, deeper insidePlano Guide Series 3500 Field BoxFrom the listing · not tested
    $21.97 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  3. Camera or handheld radio in foamPelican 1170 Protector Case with FoamFrom the listing · not tested
    $64.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
Closed black hard-shell case with ribbed sides, two latches and a blank label plate, standing upright on a glossy surface in soft light

Pelican and Plano both sell small latching boxes to anglers, and both put a submersion claim on them. The difference is how much each maker spells out: Pelican names the IP code, the valve and the buoyancy, while Plano gives a depth and time and more room for the size. Both brands were sold by Amazon.com, so every box compared here has a card.

How we chose: we did not test these boxes; we paired two sizes from each brand and compared the specs on Pelican's and Plano's product pages, checking that Amazon.com sold all four in stock on September 30, 2026.

Pelican vs Plano, spec by spec

Box Water rating Interior (in) Exterior (in) Pressure valve Buoyancy Sold by Amazon price
Pelican 1040 IP67 (1 m, 30 min) 6.50 x 3.87 x 1.75 7.5 x 5.06 x 2.12 Yes 1.26 lb Amazon.com $28.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Plano 3500 1 m, 30 min 7.5 x 3.125 x 2.5 9 x 4.875 x 3 Not listed Not stated Amazon.com $21.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Pelican 1170 IP67 10.54 x 6.04 x 3.16 11.64 x 8.34 x 3.78 Yes 7.25 lb Amazon.com $64.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Plano 3600 1 m, 30 min 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 10.88 x 7.25 x 4.13 Not listed Not stated Amazon.com $31.80 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

Pelican's figures are from its 1040 and 1170 pages; Plano's are from its Guide Series 3500 and 3600 pages.

The water claim: a named test against a depth and time

Pelican ties its micro case claim to a standard. The 1040 page says the case "is able to be submerged under 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes in accordance with IP67 testing parameters," and Pelican posts an IP67 certificate for the micro cases. The 1170 page calls the Protector case "IP67-rated waterproof and dustproof."

Plano's claim is plain: Guide Series cases are "submersible to 1 meter for up to 30 minutes," and contents stay safe "even if they go overboard." The depth and time match an IP67 figure, but Plano does not name the standard, so treat it as Plano's own rating.

Room inside for the size

This is where Plano wins on paper. The 3500 is 1.5 in longer outside than the 1040 but gives you 0.75 in more depth inside, per the two makers' dimensions, enough for a phone stacked on a small battery pack. The 3600 against the 1170 is closer: the Pelican is longer and wider inside, the Plano is deeper.

The 1170's figure includes room its foam fills. Pelican ships it with Pick N Pluck foam and a convoluted lid liner, and sells it without foam too. For a camera or a handheld VHF that should not rattle, the foam is the point; for loose gear, the Plano's open interior with a rubber pad holds more.

Open black hard case on a yellow backdrop, its foam-lined lid up and a camera, lens, cables and batteries sitting in cut-foam compartments marked with small red tags
Cut foam holds a camera still, at the cost of space; an open box with a rubber pad holds more loose gear.

Valves, seals and what happens if it goes over

Pelican puts an automatic pressure equalization valve in both the 1040 and the 1170, which it says "balances interior pressure, keeps water out." Plano calls its Guide Series cases airtight and lists a Dri-Loc O-ring and cam-action latches, but no valve.

Pelican also publishes a buoyancy figure for each case, which is the closest thing to a floating claim either brand makes: 1.26 lb for the 1040 and 7.25 lb for the 1170, per Pelican. Plano's pages say nothing about floating, so on a kayak tie a Plano box to the deck either way. Our dry box guide covers leashing and which boxes their makers say float.

Warranty and where they are made

Pelican lists a Limited Lifetime Warranty on the 1040 and 1170 pages, its "Lifetime Guarantee of Excellence," with the note "where applicable by law." Pelican says the 1170 is made in the USA, and the 1040's Amazon listing says the same.

Plano's own store lists a "Plano Exclusive 1-Year Warranty" on the Guide Series 3500 page. Plano does not state where the Guide Series cases are made.

Hand holding a small memory card over an open hard case lined with egg-crate foam in the lid and padded dividers holding camera lenses below
Padded dividers suit a box that is opened often; pluck foam suits one that carries the same gear every trip.

Who each one suits

Choose Pelican if:

  • you want a rating tied to IP67 and a pressure valve;
  • the box rides on a kayak and you want the maker's buoyancy figure before you trust it;
  • a lifetime guarantee matters more to you than interior room.

Choose Plano if:

  • you want the most interior space for the outside size;
  • a clear lid that shows what is inside is worth more than a valve;
  • the box stays inside a boat or a tackle bag, where a 1 m, 30 minute rating is plenty.

For soft gear, a roll-top bag packs better than either; see our dry bag guide.

Recalls

We found no recall of Pelican or Plano cases in the CPSC and FDA marine records our recall tracker collects from January 2023. You can search both brands in the CPSC recall database.

The products in this guide

In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.

Keys and phone, smallest shell

Pelican 1040 Micro Case

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want the lightest rated box that clips to a kayak deck line.

Pros

  • + IP67: submersion under 1 m of water for up to 30 minutes, per Pelican
  • + Automatic pressure equalization valve; rubber liner doubles as the O-ring seal
  • + Pelican lists 1.26 lb of buoyancy; carabiner and stainless steel pins

Cons

  • - Interior is only 1.75 in deep, per Pelican
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$28.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Small clear box, deeper inside

Plano Guide Series 3500 Field Box

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if a phone plus a spare battery will not fit a Pelican micro case.

Pros

  • + Submersible to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano
  • + Dri-Loc O-ring, three cam-action latches and a wrist strap
  • + Interior 7.5 x 3.125 x 2.5 in with a slip-resistant rubber pad

Cons

  • - No IP code, pressure valve or buoyancy figure published by Plano
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$21.97 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Camera or handheld radio in foam

Pelican 1170 Protector Case with Foam

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if the box carries a camera or electronics that need a cut-foam bed.

Pros

  • + IP67 rated with a silicone O-ring lid and an automatic purge valve, per Pelican
  • + Pick N Pluck foam, double-throw latches and stainless steel hardware
  • + Pelican lists 7.25 lb of buoyancy and a -40°F to 190°F rating

Cons

  • - Weighs 2.25 lb, and the foam takes up much of the 10.54 x 6.04 x 3.16 in interior
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$64.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Wallet and phone, see-through lid

Plano Guide Series 3600 Field Box

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want the most room of the four and can see your gear through the lid.

Pros

  • + Submersible to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano
  • + Clear polycarbonate lid, Dri-Loc O-ring and cam-action latches
  • + Interior 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 in, per Plano

Cons

  • - Plano states no buoyancy, and its store lists a 1-year warranty
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$31.80 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Pelican make a floating dry box for kayaks?

Pelican does not use the word "floats" on the pages we read, but it lists a positive buoyancy figure for each case, such as 1.74 lb for the 1050 Micro Case, which is the 1040's deeper sibling.

Can I replace the O-ring on a Pelican case?

On the Protector cases, yes. Pelican sells a 1173 replacement O-ring as an accessory on its 1170 page. On the micro cases the rubber liner is the seal.

Is there a bigger Plano Guide Series box?

Yes. Plano's store lists a Guide Series 3700 case above the 3600, alongside a smaller 3400.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 30, 2026.

  1. pelican.com: 1040
  2. pelican.com: 1170
  3. planooutdoors.com: Guide Series 3500
  4. planooutdoors.com: 3600
  5. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC recall database
  6. pelican.com: 1050 Micro Case
  7. planooutdoors.com: Guide Series 3700 case

SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Specs are Pelican's and Plano's own, from their product pages.

Pelican vs PlanoPelicanPlanodry boxPelican 1040Pelican 1170Plano Guide SeriesIP67

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.