Skip to content
Dry Bags & Cases7 min read6 products compared

Best Dry Bags for Boats and Kayaks (2026)

Six roll-top dry bags compared on fabric, denier and what each maker says about submersion, with the roll counts their instructions give and an IP code primer.

By the SaltProofLab Editorial TeamHow we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

For a boat deck or a kayak that takes spray all day, buy the Sea to Summit Big River: 420D TPU-laminated nylon, tape-sealed seams and a stated 10,000 mm hydrostatic head. The Earth Pak Original is a 500D PVC bag that its maker says floats when you leave air inside, with a phone case in the box.

Our picks

  1. Spray and bilge water on deckSea to Summit Big River Dry Bag, 13 LiterFrom the listing · not tested
    $49.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  2. Kayak decks, with a phone caseEarth Pak Original Dry Bag, 10LFrom the listing · not tested
    $21.63 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  3. Beach launches and short paddlesMARCHWAY Floating Waterproof Dry Bag, 10LFrom the listing · not tested
    $15.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
Three orange roll-top dry bags hanging from a rope rail on a boat, deep blue sea and a mountain ridge behind

A dry bag on a boat faces spray, rain, a wet deck and bilge water, and on a kayak it may go over the side. The labels differ: some makers rate the fabric in millimeters, one gives an IP code, and most say the bag is not for submersion. Here is what each one states, and how to close it the way its maker says.

How we chose: we did not test these bags; the picks come from the makers' pages and Amazon listings, and all six were sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock on September 29, 2026.

Six dry bags side by side

Bag Fabric (per maker or listing) What the maker says about water Roll the top Sold by Amazon price
Sea to Summit Big River 13L 420D nylon, TPU laminate 10,000 mm hydrostatic head; avoid submersion 3 times (rated volume) Sea to Summit North America $49.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Earth Pak Original 10L 500D PVC Floats with air left inside 3 to 4 times Earth Pak $21.63 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
MARCHWAY Floating 10L Not stated; welded seams Not for extended submersion 3 to 5 times MARCHWAY $15.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Pelican ExoDry 20L 500D PVC Not intended for submersion Not stated Amazon.com $44.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Sea to Summit Lightweight 5L 70D nylon, PU coating 10,000 mm hydrostatic head 3 times (rated volume) Sea to Summit North America $22.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)
Osprey Ultralight 6L Waterproof-coated fabric IPX5, non-submersible Not stated Amazon.com $22.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC)

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

What "waterproof" means on a dry bag

Nearly every listing here uses the word waterproof. What each maker backs it with differs, and the difference matters when a bag goes overboard.

Sea to Summit is the most direct. Its Big River product page rates the body fabric at 10,000 mm hydrostatic head, then answers its own FAQ: avoid submersion "since water can seep through the roll-top closure of any dry bag." The fabric is rated; the closure is not.

The company goes further on its dry bag collection page: roll-top bags from all brands "are not designed to be submerged." They keep gear dry inside a boat, but if the closure is held under deep enough or long enough, water gets in. That is the plain reading of every roll-top on this list.

Osprey is the only maker here that quotes an IP code for a bag, and its listing adds "waterproof non-submersible" beside it. The second digit of an IP code rates protection against water under IEC 60529, on a scale from 0 to 9.

Level 5 is water jets from a 6.3 mm nozzle; immersion starts at level 7 (up to 1 m for 30 minutes), per the test summary in Wikipedia's IP code article. So IPX5 means a bag that shrugs off a hose, not one that survives a swim.

Orange roll-top dry bag clipped by its buckle to a steel grab rail on the side of a boat, a crew member's legs in foul-weather gear beside it
Clipping the buckle to a rail keeps a bag on board; it does not make the closure submersible.

Denier, PVC and TPU: reading the fabric line

The "D" after a number is denier, a measure of yarn weight. The makers here use it to separate duty levels: Sea to Summit's rugged Big River is 420D, its packing-weight Lightweight bag is 70D, and Earth Pak and Pelican build from 500D PVC.

Sea to Summit coats both of its bags differently. The Big River has a TPU laminate and a triple-coated base. The Lightweight Dry Bag uses a polyurethane coating, and the maker rates that coating at the same 10,000 mm. A lighter fabric is not automatically leakier; it is thinner against a rough deck or a shell bank.

Earth Pak describes its 500D PVC as thick and abrasion resistant. It does not publish a hydrostatic head, so there is no figure to set against Sea to Summit's.

How to close a roll-top, by each maker's rules

The closure is the part that lets water in, so it pays to close it the way the maker wrote.

  • Earth Pak says to roll the top down three to four times, buckle the ends into a handle, and leave some air in the bag, which is what keeps it floating, per its product FAQ.
  • MARCHWAY says to spread the bottom open so it fills with air, roll the top three to five times and buckle, per its listing.
  • Sea to Summit lists every volume "with closure rolled three times," so three rolls is the minimum for the size you paid for.

Only Earth Pak and MARCHWAY tie the trapped air to floating. Neither Sea to Summit, Pelican nor Osprey claims its bag floats.

Paddler in a yellow life jacket steering a loaded canoe, a yellow roll-top dry bag and gear packed in front of her, a steep forested shore ahead
Bags that ride low in the hull sit in the water that collects there, so close them as if they will be submerged.

Which bag for which boat

On a center console or a skiff where the bag lives on deck, the Sea to Summit Big River is the one with a stated fabric rating, taped seams and a base made for scraping. The same bag comes in 35L and 65L versions.

On a sit-on-top kayak, the Earth Pak or MARCHWAY floating bags suit a bag that could go over the side. Clip it to the kayak by its D-ring either way. A phone you want to use belongs in a pouch on a lanyard; our waterproof phone case guide covers the IP68 and IPX8 claims.

The Pelican ExoDry makes sense for a bag you open all day, since you can see through the middle. The Sea to Summit Lightweight and Osprey Ultralight are organizers: put them inside a hatch, a cooler or a bigger bag, where a closure never sees standing water.

Recalls

We found no CPSC recalls of these six bags in the CPSC recall database since 2023. One related recall: on March 9, 2023, YETI recalled about 1.9 million soft coolers and its SideKick Dry gear case because the magnet-lined closures can fail and detached magnets can be swallowed, per the CPSC notice. YETI offers a refund or replacement. Other marine recalls are on our recall page.

Our picks, in order

Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.

Head to head: Pelican vs Plano Dry Boxes (2026)
1

Spray and bilge water on deck

Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag, 13 Liter

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if the bag lives on a deck or kayak and takes spray all day.

Pros

  • + 420D nylon with a TPU laminate and a triple-coated base, per Sea to Summit
  • + Double-stitched, tape-sealed seams; the maker rates the body at 10,000 mm hydrostatic head
  • + Lash points and an oval base that resists rolling; the buckle can be replaced with a screwdriver

Cons

  • - Sea to Summit says to avoid submersion, because water can seep through any roll-top closure
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$49.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)
2

Kayak decks, with a phone case

Earth Pak Original Dry Bag, 10L

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you paddle and want a floating bag and a phone pouch in one purchase.

Pros

  • + 500D PVC with a roll-top closure, per Earth Pak
  • + Earth Pak says the bag floats if you leave some air inside when you roll it
  • + Includes a phone case the listing calls IPX8 certified, for phones up to 6.5 in; five-year warranty

Cons

  • - Earth Pak publishes no hydrostatic head or IP rating for the bag itself
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$21.63 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)
3

Beach launches and short paddles

MARCHWAY Floating Waterproof Dry Bag, 10L

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want a simple floating sack with written closing instructions.

Pros

  • + Welded seams and a round bottom that traps air so the bag floats, per the listing
  • + Clear instructions: spread the bottom, roll three to five times, buckle
  • + Five sizes from 5L to 40L; 20L and up have backpack straps

Cons

  • - MARCHWAY says it is not for extended submersion, and names no fabric weight
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$15.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)
4

Finding small items fast

Pelican ExoDry 20L Dry Bag

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want to see your gear without unrolling the bag.

Pros

  • + 500D PVC with a translucent middle section so you can see what is inside, per the listing
  • + Water-resistant zippered outer pocket and two removable shoulder straps

Cons

  • - The listing says it is not intended for submersion, and the outer pocket is water-resistant only
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$44.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)
5

Organizing inside a bigger bag

Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag, 5 Liter

From the listing · not tested

Buy it to keep a first aid kit or spare layer dry inside a larger bag.

Pros

  • + Recycled 70D nylon with a white PU interior coating, per Sea to Summit
  • + Maker rates the coating at 10,000 mm hydrostatic head; seams double-stitched and tape-sealed

Cons

  • - 70D fabric is far lighter than the 420D Big River; Sea to Summit pitches it for packing, not rough decks
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$22.95 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)
6

Inside a hatch or pack

Osprey Ultralight Waterproof Dry Sack, 6L

From the listing · not tested

Buy it for gear that rides inside a hatch, a cooler or a larger bag.

Pros

  • + Roll-top closure with waterproof-coated fabric and seams, per the listing
  • + Rated IPX5, which Osprey's listing spells out as waterproof and non-submersible
  • + Rectangular shape packs flat; D-ring for hanging it to dry

Cons

  • - An IPX5 rating covers water jets, not a swim
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$22.00 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC (details)

Frequently Asked Questions

What does a 10,000 mm hydrostatic head mean?

It is the height of a water column, in millimeters, that the fabric holds back before water gets through. Sea to Summit rates both its Big River and Lightweight bags at 10,000 mm, and in the same FAQ says the rating applies to the body of the bag, not to the closure.

Why do dry bag volumes change with the roll?

Because the rolled part is not usable space. Earth Pak notes on its size chart that the volume of its bags varies with how many times the top is rolled down, which is why Sea to Summit quotes its sizes at three rolls.

Will a full dry bag still float?

Only if it has air in it and is not overloaded. MARCHWAY's listing says its bag floats visibly "when properly sealed and not overloaded," and Earth Pak's FAQ says the air you leave in when rolling is what brings it back to the surface. A bag packed tight with metal gear may not.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 29, 2026.

  1. seatosummit.com: Big River product page
  2. seatosummit.com: Dry bags
  3. International Electrotechnical Commission: IEC 60529
  4. en.wikipedia.org: Wikipedia's IP code article
  5. seatosummit.com: Lightweight Dry Bag
  6. earthpak.com: FAQ
  7. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC recall database
  8. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC notice

SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

dry bagsroll-top dry bagkayak dry bagboat dry bagdenierhydrostatic headIPX5

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.