# Fish Measuring Boards and Scales (2026): Bump Boards, Lawsticks and Digital Scales for Size Limits

> Bump boards, a Florida lawstick and two digital scales compared, with FWC's rules for total length and fork length and why a tarpon over 40 inches stays in the water.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-10-01
- Category: tools-catch
- Tags: fish measuring board, bump board, fish ruler, lawstick, fish scale, size limits, total length, fork length
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-10-01.
- Quick answer: For Florida anglers, the Salty Bones Lawstick folds to 12.9 in, floats, and prints Gulf and Atlantic guidelines on the stick. On a boat, Frabill's bump board measures 8 to 36 in and screws to the deck. For weight, the KastKing WideView reads to 110 lb and stores nine weights.

## Key takeaways

- Florida FWC measures total length 'with the mouth closed' to the tip of the tail 'compressed or squeezed'; fork length stops at the center of the fork.
- FWC: take a straight-line measurement and 'do not follow the contour of the fish'; lay a flexible tape flat on a hard surface.
- In Florida, a tarpon over 40 inches must stay in the water, so you measure it there or not at all.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Salty Bones Florida Saltwater Lawstick, 36 in Folding Ruler** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0BDGHSYNL) — Buy it if you fish Florida and want the rules on the ruler.
   - Pros: Measures up to 36 in and folds to 1.25 x 12.9 in, per the listing; Gulf and Atlantic Florida saltwater guidelines printed front and back, with a QR code to FWC's website; Semi-flexible PVC under 2 oz that the maker says floats; leash point for a lanyard
   - Cons: Printed guidelines date as rules change, so check the QR code link before you keep a fish
2. **Frabill Expandable Bump Board** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B00FPR1WGE) — Buy it if you want a board that lives screwed to the deck.
   - Pros: Adjustable board that measures fish from 8 to 36 in, per Frabill; Mounting holes to secure it to the deck; Made from 100% recycled materials
   - Cons: The listing does not say it floats
3. **Ketch Karbonate Fish Measuring Board, 26 in** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0DNRGDPLK) — Buy it if a tournament needs a rigid board and your fish run under 26 in.
   - Pros: Polycarbonate board with contoured sides that Ketch says cradle the fish in place; High-contrast markings; Ketch calls it tournament legal in most trails; 27 x 4-5/8 x 1-1/4 in, tether holes, made in the USA
   - Cons: Does not float, per the maker, and it tops out at 26 in
4. **Rapala 24 in Folding Fish Measuring Ruler** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0000BY4UZ) — Buy it if you need a spare ruler for small inshore species.
   - Pros: Folds for a tackle box and reads up to 24 in, per Rapala; Weighs 0.3 lb, per the listing
   - Cons: Too short for fish near Florida's snook slot, which starts at 28 in in FWC's rules
5. **KastKing WideView Fish Scale, Floating** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0B5LHG6RK) — Buy it if you weigh several fish a trip and want a running total.
   - Pros: 2.5 in backlit LCD in pounds and ounces or kilograms, per KastKing; Weighs up to 110 lb; stores nine weights and totals them; Floating design, per the listing, with a stainless hook and batteries included
   - Cons: KastKing does not publish an accuracy figure for it
6. **Rapala High Contrast Digital Scale, 50 lb** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B074Q4XDF6) — Buy it if you fish in hard sun and want an easy-to-read screen.
   - Pros: 50 lb capacity with a reverse-image LCD for bright light, per Rapala; Directional pad operation and eight storage locations
   - Cons: The listing gives no accuracy figure and does not say it floats

Most saltwater size limits are a line on a ruler, and the fish in your hands is either on one side of it or the other. What decides the reading is where you start, where you stop, and whether the fish lies flat. The tool matters less than doing that the way the agency wrote it.

**How we chose:** we did not test these boards or scales; sizes, materials and capacities come from the makers' Amazon listings, and each was sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock on September 30, 2026.

## Four rulers and two scales side by side

| Tool | Reads | Folds or mounts | Floats | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Salty Bones Florida Lawstick](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0BDGHSYNL) | To 36 in | Folds to 12.9 in | Yes, per maker | Salty Bones | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Frabill Expandable Bump Board](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B00FPR1WGE) | 8 to 36 in | Mounting holes | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Ketch Karbonate 26 in](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0DNRGDPLK) | To 26 in | Rigid, tether holes | No, per maker | Ketch Products | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Rapala 24 in folding ruler](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0000BY4UZ) | To 24 in | Folds | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [KastKing WideView scale](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B0B5LHG6RK) | To 110 lb | Handheld | Yes, per listing | KastKing USA | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Rapala High Contrast scale](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales#product-B074Q4XDF6) | To 50 lb | Handheld | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |

## Total length, fork length and lower jaw fork length

Florida's [FWC measurement page](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/measurement/) defines the three you will meet. **Total length** runs "from the most forward point of the head, with the mouth closed, to the farthest tip of the tail with the tail compressed or squeezed." **Fork length** runs "from the tip of the jaw or tip of the snout with closed mouth to the center of the fork in the tail."

Billfish use a third, **lower jaw fork length**, measured "in a straight line from the anterior most part of the lower jaw (tip of the lower jaw) to the fork in the tail." Which one applies depends on the species, so read the limit and the method together.

The same FWC page gives the tape rule: "take a straight line measurement and do not follow the contour of the fish," with the tape laid "flat on a hard surface." A tape bent over a thick fish's back reads longer than the straight line the rule calls for.


## Why a bump board beats a tape

A bump board has a raised stop at zero. You push the fish's closed mouth against it, lay the body flat along the scale and read the tail, as FWC's method describes. The Frabill board does this from 8 to 36 in and has holes to screw it to the deck. Ketch's Karbonate adds contoured sides that the maker says cradle the fish in place.

A folding stick trades that stop for a small pocket size. The Salty Bones Lawstick opens to 36.4 in and folds to 12.9 in, and it floats, per the maker. It also prints Florida's Gulf and Atlantic guidelines with a QR code to FWC. Rules change, so treat the printing as a reminder and the QR link as the check.

For record fish, the International Game Fish Association has its own device. IGFA's [angling rules](https://igfa.org/international-angling-rules/) say length-record fish "must be measured using an official IGFA measuring device," on a flat surface, with measurements "made in centimeters."

## Weighing: what the scales promise

Neither scale here publishes an accuracy figure, so treat either as a trip log, not a certified reading. The KastKing WideView weighs to 110 lb, shows pounds and ounces or kilograms on a 2.5 in backlit screen, and stores nine weights with a running total. Rapala's High Contrast scale reads to 50 lb on a reverse-image screen with eight memory slots.

A record needs more. IGFA says fish submitted for a record "must be weighed on scales that have been certified for accuracy by government agencies or other qualified and accredited organizations within the past 12 months."


## Measuring a fish you will release

Speed matters more than precision when the fish goes back. NOAA's [catch-and-release best practices](https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/national/resources-fishing/catch-and-release-best-practices) say to "support the weight of any fish removed from the water along the length of its body" and to keep air exposure under 60 seconds. They also say: "Never suspend a fish by its lip or mouth," which rules out hanging a release fish from a scale hook.

Tarpon are the strict case. FWC's [tarpon page](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/tarpon/) says: "Tarpon over 40 inches MUST remain in the water unless in pursuit of a state or world record using a tarpon tag." A floating tape or lawstick laid alongside the fish in the water is the only way to measure one.

A lip grip with a built-in scale is covered in our [fish grips and dehookers guide](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-grips-and-dehookers), including NOAA's advice on holding a fish you release. A [rubber landing net](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/landing-nets) keeps the fish supported while you get the board ready.

## Boards and scales we left out

Several aluminum boards (Zonon, Lee Fisher) and a 53 in NVAAV tape were sold by third-party storefronts not in the brand's name, which fails our seller rule. Tackle-shop lip-grip scales are covered in the grips guide linked above.

We found no CPSC recall of these brands in our [recall tracker](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Do sharks use total length or fork length in Florida?

Fork length. FWC's [shark rules](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/sharks/) state the Group 2 limit as a "54 inch (fork length) minimum size limit," and prohibited sharks "must remain in the water with the gills submerged" when fishing from shore or a vessel.

### Can I measure a tarpon out of the water to get a girth for a weight estimate?

Only if it is under 40 inches or you hold a tarpon tag. Florida's [rule 68B-32.004](https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?ID=68B-32.004) lets you possess a tarpon briefly "only for the purposes of photography, measuring length and girth, and taking a scientific sample," then release it where it was caught; the 40 inch limit on removing it from the water still applies.

### Is a measuring board accurate enough for a tournament?

Ask the tournament; many name the board. Ketch calls its Karbonate board tournament legal "in most trails and events" and tells anglers to confirm with their organization.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Measuring rules are quoted from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, NOAA Fisheries and the IGFA; check your own state's rules before you keep a fish.*

## Sources

- myfwc.com: [FWC measurement page](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/measurement)
- igfa.org: [International angling rules](https://igfa.org/international-angling-rules)
- NOAA Fisheries: [Catch and release best practices](https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/national/resources-fishing/catch-and-release-best-practices)
- myfwc.com: [Tarpon page](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/tarpon)
- myfwc.com: [Shark rules](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/sharks)
- flrules.org: [Rule No.asp](https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?ID=68B-32.004)

---
Last updated: 2026-10-01
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales
How to cite: "Fish Measuring Boards and Scales (2026): Bump Boards, Lawsticks and Digital Scales for Size Limits", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/fish-measuring-boards-and-scales (checked 2026-10-01).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.