# Cast Nets for Bait (2026): Radius, Mesh Size, Weight per Foot and State Rules

> Five cast nets for catching your own bait, compared on radius, mesh and lead per foot, plus the Florida and Texas size limits you need to check first.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-09-30
- Category: tools-catch
- Tags: cast net, bait net, throw net, cast net size, cast net mesh, live bait
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-30.
- Quick answer: To learn on, the Drasry 4 ft net is light, with 3/8 in mesh and 1.1 lb of zinc-iron weight per foot. For pilchards and mullet from a boat or dock, the Juju 8 ft sinks on 1.25 lb of lead per foot. For small bait, BasicGear's Pancake has 1/4 in mesh.

## Key takeaways

- Texas Parks and Wildlife caps cast nets at 14 feet in diameter and, in salt water, allows nongame fish taken with one for bait only.
- Florida FWC's shrimp rules allow a cast net with a stretched length of no more than 14 feet, measured from the horn to the lead line.
- Radius is how makers size a net: a 6 ft net spreads to about 12 ft across if thrown fully open.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Drasry Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in Mesh, 4 ft Radius** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B089K1PXH9) — Buy it if you are new to cast nets and want something light to learn on.
   - Pros: Zinc-iron sinkers at 1.1 lb per foot, per the listing; Copolymer monofilament mesh, 0.3 mm thick; 32 ft braided hand rope; Neoprene wrist strap, repair line and tool, and a net bag included
   - Cons: A 4 ft radius covers less water than the 6 and 8 ft nets
2. **BasicGear Cast Net, Zinc Iron, 6 ft Radius, 3/8 in Mesh** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B096MDLLDJ) — Buy it if you want a 6 ft net without lead in the weights.
   - Pros: Galvanized zinc-iron sinkers that BasicGear says resist rust with proper care; Reinforced nylon monofilament, double lead line, stainless swivel; Instructions, repair kit and a utility box included
   - Cons: Weight per foot is not stated on the listing
3. **BASSDASH American Saltwater Cast Net, 3/8 in Mesh** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B07QWK4G86) — Buy it if you want covered weights and a hand line that floats.
   - Pros: 1 lb of plastic-covered weight per radius foot, per Bassdash; Hand-made six-panel construction; 316 stainless swivel and ABS horn; 32.8 ft floating hand line with a comfort cuff; utility bucket included
   - Cons: The listing covers 4, 6 and 8 ft radii; check the size you select
4. **JUJU Saltwater Cast Net, 8 ft Radius, 3/8 in Mesh** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B0B265NSQV) — Buy it if you can already throw and want more water per cast.
   - Pros: 1.25 lb of real lead per foot for a fast sink, per Juju; Hand-tied six-panel net with 100 lb braille lines and a double lead line; 30 ft hand line; 3.5 gal bucket, storage bag and a how-to book included
   - Cons: An 8 ft radius is over the Texas 14 ft diameter cap
5. **BasicGear Pancake Cast Net, 6 ft Radius, 1/4 in Mesh** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B0B6GRFQCV) — Buy it if your bait is small enough to slip through 3/8 in mesh.
   - Pros: 1/4 in mesh for small baitfish; 1.25 lb per foot, per the title; Real lead sinkers on a double lead line; stainless swivel; Repair kit and storage box included
   - Cons: Fine mesh sinks slower than 3/8 in, and lead needs careful handling

Catching your own bait comes down to three numbers on a cast net's label (radius, mesh size and weight per foot) and one question for your state: how big a net is legal where you throw it.

**How we chose:** we did not test these nets; sizes and weights come from the makers' Amazon listings, and each was sold by the brand's own store and in stock on September 30, 2026.

## Five cast nets side by side

| Net | Radius | Mesh | Weight, per maker | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Drasry 4 ft](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B089K1PXH9) | 4 ft | 3/8 in | 1.1 lb/ft zinc-iron | Drasry-u | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [BasicGear Zinc Iron 6 ft](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B096MDLLDJ) | 6 ft | 3/8 in | Zinc-iron, per ft not stated | BasicGearTackle | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Bassdash American](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B07QWK4G86) | 4, 6 or 8 ft | 3/8 in | 1 lb/ft, plastic-covered | Bassdash-US | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Juju 8 ft](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B0B265NSQV) | 8 ft | 3/8 in | 1.25 lb/ft lead | JUJU Tackle Company | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [BasicGear Pancake 6 ft](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets#product-B0B6GRFQCV) | 6 ft | 1/4 in | 1.25 lb/ft lead | BasicGearTackle | see the current Amazon price on the page |

## Radius, mesh and weight: reading the label

**Radius** is the net's length from the horn at the center to the lead line. It sets how much water the net covers and how hard it is to throw. Juju calls 7 to 8 ft "the easiest starting point for shore, pier, and dock casting" and 10 to 12 ft the size for deeper water "once you've got the technique down."

**Mesh** is measured as the square's side. Bassdash says 3/8 in suits "small to medium baits (3in. or longer)." BasicGear's Pancake drops to 1/4 in for bait that would slip through.

**Weight per foot** is the lead line's weight for each foot of radius. More weight sinks faster and closes the bottom before bait escapes, which Juju and Drasry both give as the reason. It also makes a bigger net heavier to throw.


## Lead, zinc-iron or covered weights

Most nets carry lead. Juju and BasicGear's Pancake say "real lead," and Drasry's other 3/8 in net uses "pure lead sinkers."

Two nets here skip bare lead. BasicGear's Zinc Iron net uses "galvanized zinc iron sinkers for rust resistance (with proper care)," and Drasry's 4 ft uses zinc-iron at 1.1 lb per foot. Bassdash covers its weights in plastic.

## Check your state's rules before you throw

Cast net rules are set by each state and differ by species, water and season. Two examples:

**Texas.** The [Texas Parks and Wildlife legal-devices page](https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/fishing/general-rules-regulations/legal-devices-for-fish) says a cast net "may not be greater than 14 feet in diameter," is legal "only for taking nongame fish and other aquatic animal life including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp," and that "in salt water, nongame fish may be taken for bait purposes only."

By the makers' radius sizing, a 7 ft net spreads 14 ft across, so the 8 ft nets here are over the Texas line.

**Florida.** For recreational shrimping, [FWC](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/shrimp/) allows a "cast net with a stretched length (the distance from the horn at the center of the net, with the net gathered and pulled taut, to the lead line) no greater than 14 feet." Its [mullet rules](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/mullet/) list cast nets as legal gear for mullet.

Other states have their own limits and closed areas. Check your state's current saltwater regulations, and your license requirements, before your first throw.

## Where each net fits

- **Learning, or throwing from a kayak or a small dock:** the Drasry 4 ft, the smallest net here, which Drasry pitches at first-timers.
- **Wading flats and beaches:** a 6 ft net with 3/8 in mesh, the BasicGear Zinc Iron or the Bassdash in 6 ft.
- **Boats and seawalls with deeper water:** the Juju 8 ft, where the rules allow it.
- **Glass minnows and small shrimp:** the BasicGear Pancake's 1/4 in mesh.


Once the bait is in the bucket, it needs air. Our guide to [live bait aerators and buckets](https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/live-bait-aerators-and-buckets) covers rechargeable and battery aerators and insulated buckets. Rinse the net in fresh water after each trip; our [anti-corrosion sprays guide](https://saltprooflab.com/gear-care/anti-corrosion-sprays) covers the swivel.

## Caring for a cast net between trips

The makers' own extras tell you what wears out. BasicGear and Drasry ship repair line and a tool with their nets, so expect to mend torn mesh yourself. Juju includes "a breathable storage bag to keep your net dry between trips." BasicGear's rust claim for its zinc-iron weights comes with a condition: "with proper care."

That care is simple: rinse the net, lead line and swivel in fresh water, let the net dry open, then store it in its box or bag.

## Nets we left out

**Betts** and **Fitec** nets were sold on Amazon only by resellers such as Hunter's Bundle, Profline and UnbeatableSale when we checked. **Calusa** nets were sold by "Calusa Trading," and we could not confirm it is Calusa's own store. Best Fisher's nets were sold by PFS Products, a different name from the brand.

We found no CPSC recall of cast nets from these brands in our [recall tracker](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### What size cast net should a beginner buy?

The makers disagree. Drasry and BasicGear pitch their nets at beginners and sell them from 4 ft; Juju, whose line starts at 7 ft, calls 7 to 8 ft the easiest starting point for shore, pier and dock casting. In Texas, stay at 7 ft or under.

### How long is the hand line?

It varies: 30 ft on the Juju, 32 ft on the Drasry and 32.8 ft on the Bassdash, per the listings. Bassdash describes its line as floating.

### Can I use a cast net for game fish in Texas?

No. Texas Parks and Wildlife limits cast nets to nongame fish and other aquatic life such as crabs and shrimp, and in salt water, nongame fish taken with one are for bait only.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Regulations are quoted from Texas Parks and Wildlife and the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission as of September 30, 2026.*

## Sources

- tpwd.texas.gov: [Texas Parks and Wildlife legal-devices page](https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/fishing/general-rules-regulations/legal-devices-for-fish)
- myfwc.com: [FWC](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/shrimp)
- myfwc.com: [Mullet rules](https://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/mullet)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-30
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets
How to cite: "Cast Nets for Bait (2026): Radius, Mesh Size, Weight per Foot and State Rules", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/tools-catch/cast-nets (checked 2026-09-30).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.