# Kayak Lights and Flags for Fishing (2026): The Navigation Rule, 360° Lights and Motor Kayaks

> What the Navigation Rules require of a kayak after sunset, how a motor changes that, and 360° light-and-flag poles and portable kits sold by Amazon or the maker.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-10-01
- Category: kayak-paddle
- Tags: kayak light, kayak flag, kayak navigation light, 360 degree light, Rule 25, kayak fishing at night, motorized kayak lights
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-10-01.
- Quick answer: For a paddle or pedal kayak, a telescoping pole with an all-round white LED and an orange flag, such as Xprite's (IP67, 26.5 to 59.4 in), covers night and day in one mount. Add a motor and the boat is power-driven; attwood's All-Craft kit adds the red and green sidelights.

## Key takeaways

- Rule 25(d) lets a paddle craft carry just a white flashlight or lantern, shown in time to prevent a collision; under the Inland Rules it may show an all-round white light instead.
- Lights are required from sunset to sunrise and in restricted visibility, fog and rain included.
- The Coast Guard counts a kayak under any mechanical propulsion, trolling motor included, as a power-driven vessel.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Xprite Kayak Safety Flag with 360° LED Light** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0FF4467BS) — Buy it if you want the light, the flag and three mounting options in one kit.
   - Pros: All-round white LED with low, high and flashing modes on 3 AAA batteries, per the listing; Pole telescopes from 26.5 to 59.4 in; track, pole or included base mount; IP67 rating, aluminum pole, 19.7 x 5.5 in orange flag that doubles as the storage bag
   - Cons: Run time is not stated; batteries not included
2. **Tavaray Kayak Lights with Orange Flag Pole Kit** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0FF94MDGM) — Buy it if you fish all night and want the longest stated run time.
   - Pros: 360° white LED with two brightness settings, per the listing; Up to 75 hours on low from 3 AAA batteries, per the listing; IP67 rating; track, pole or base mounting; 55.5 in tall
   - Cons: No flashing mode listed
3. **Viswiker 360° Kayak Light with Retractable Pole and Orange Flag** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0DJ2LQJDS) — Buy it if you want the same pole-light setup that stows shorter.
   - Pros: IP67 rating, aluminum pole adjusting from 24.9 to 55.5 in, per the listing; High and low modes, up to 75 hours on 3 AAA batteries; Track, pole-bracket or base mounting with hardware included
   - Cons: No flashing mode listed
4. **attwood 14196-7 All-Craft Portable Navigation Light Kit** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B077SQK6DD) — Buy it if your kayak runs a trolling motor or outboard after dark.
   - Pros: Red/green bow light and white stern light for boats without 12V, per the listing; Quick-release All-Craft mounts and a threaded pole; 150+ hours on three AAA batteries, per the listing
   - Cons: Listed as water-resistant, not given an IP rating

Kayak anglers who launch before dawn or fish the evening tide share the water with boats whose drivers are looking for lights, not a low deck and a paddle. The federal rule for a paddle craft is lighter than most people expect; the rule for a kayak with a motor is not. A flag helps in daylight, and in some states more is required.

**How we chose:** we did not test these lights; we read the Navigation Rules and the Coast Guard's boater guide, then picked kits whose listings state a rating and mounting options, sold by Amazon.com or the maker and in stock on September 30, 2026.

## Four light kits compared

| Kit | Lights | Waterproof rating (per listing) | Pole or mount | Run time (per listing) | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Xprite flag with 360° light](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0FF4467BS) | All-round white, 3 modes | IP67 | 26.5–59.4 in; track, pole, base | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Tavaray light and flag kit](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0FF94MDGM) | All-round white, 2 modes | IP67 | 55.5 in; track, pole, base | Up to 75 h (low) | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Viswiker 360° light and flag](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B0DJ2LQJDS) | All-round white, 2 modes | IP67 | 24.9–55.5 in; track, pole, base | Up to 75 h | Viswiker | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [attwood All-Craft kit](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags#product-B077SQK6DD) | Red/green bow, white stern | Water-resistant | Clamp mounts, threaded pole | 150+ h | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |

## What the Navigation Rules say for a paddle craft

Rule 25(d)(ii) of the [Navigation Rules](https://www.navcen.uscg.gov/navigation-rules-amalgamated) covers a vessel under oars, the category a paddled canoe or kayak falls under. It "may exhibit the lights prescribed in this rule for sailing vessels," meaning sidelights and a sternlight. If it does not, it "shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision."

The Inland Rules add one option: the paddle craft may instead "exhibit an all around white light." Inland Rules apply on most bays, rivers and harbors inside the demarcation lines; the International Rules apply beyond them. A 360° white light on a pole meets the Inland wording and does the flashlight's job without needing a free hand.

Rule 20 sets the hours. Lights "shall be complied with from sunset to sunrise," and also shown "from sunrise to sunset in restricted visibility," so a fog bank at noon counts.


## Add a motor and the rules change

The Coast Guard's [Boater's Guide to the Federal Requirements](https://www.uscgboating.org/assets/1/AssetManager/Boaters-Guide-to-Federal-Requirements-for-Receational-Boats-20231108.pdf) is blunt: "A sailing vessel or human-powered vessel (Canoe/Kayak/SUP) under mechanical propulsion is considered a power-driven vessel." A trolling motor or a small outboard puts your kayak under the power-driven rules.

Under Rule 23, a power-driven boat under 12 meters may show an all-round white light plus sidelights. That means a red and green bow light as well as the white pole light, which is what kits like attwood's All-Craft add. The flashlight-only option in Rule 25 no longer applies once the motor is on.

## Is a flag required?

Not by federal rule. The same Coast Guard guide says the Coast Guard "does not regulate anchors, paddles, rearview mirrors, or diver/ski flags." A flag is a daytime visibility aid: orange on a pole puts color at a boat driver's eye level when a sit-on-top kayak barely shows above a chop.

States can and do add rules. Florida's FWC, for example, lists the [equipment for canoes, kayaks and vessels under 16 feet](https://myfwc.com/boating/safety-education/equipment/vessels-under-16-feet/) and points paddlers to Navigation Rules 20 to 25 for lights. Check your state's boating agency before relying on the federal minimum.

**Key point:** mount the light so your body doesn't block it. A 360° light behind the seat at shoulder height is hidden from the bow side when you lean forward; raise the pole above your head.

## Picking a light

For a **paddle or pedal kayak**, the Xprite, Tavaray and Viswiker kits do the same job: an all-round white LED on a telescoping pole with an orange flag, three mounting methods and an IP67 rating per their listings. Pick the **Xprite** if you want a flashing mode and the tallest pole, the **Tavaray** for its stated 75 hours on low, and the **Viswiker** if you want a pole that stows shorter.

For a **kayak with a motor**, add red and green sidelights. The **attwood All-Craft** kit runs on AAA batteries with clamp mounts and a threaded stern pole; its listing calls it water-resistant and gives no IP rating, so keep spares dry.

YakAttack's VisiCarbon Pro and Railblaza's visibility kits are popular with kayak anglers, but only third-party sellers offered them on Amazon when we checked.


## Other night gear the rules touch

Paddlers on coastal waters still need night distress signals after dark. The Coast Guard guide says manually propelled boats "are not required to carry day signals, but must carry night signals when operating from sunset to sunrise." Our [required safety equipment guide](https://saltprooflab.com/life-jackets-safety/uscg-required-safety-equipment) covers what counts, and the [kayak fishing PFD guide](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-fishing-pfds) covers the life jacket to wear with it.

Related: [kayak fishing accessories](https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-fishing-accessories) for track mounts and rod holders that share the rail with a light pole, and [waterproof headlamps](https://saltprooflab.com/life-jackets-safety/waterproof-headlamps-for-night-fishing) for rigging and landing fish in the dark.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Does a pedal kayak count as power-driven?

No, pedals are human power. The Coast Guard guide makes a kayak power-driven only when it is "under mechanical propulsion," such as a motor. A pedal drive leaves you under Rule 25's paddle-craft option.

### Is a headlamp enough to meet Rule 25?

A white "electric torch" ready at hand meets the International wording if you show it in time to prevent a collision. A headlamp points where you look, though, and a boat approaching from behind may never see it. That is why most kayak anglers mount a 360° light instead.

### Do I need lights at dawn before sunrise?

Yes. Rule 20 requires lights from sunset to sunrise, so a pre-dawn launch is covered. They are also required in daylight in restricted visibility.

### Can I leave a strobe flashing all night?

Not as a navigation light. Under the Inland Rules, a white light flashing 50 to 70 times a minute is a distress signal, per the Coast Guard guide. Keep flashing modes for an emergency and run the steady white light.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.*

## Sources

- U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Center: [Navigation Rules](https://www.navcen.uscg.gov/navigation-rules-amalgamated)
- U.S. Coast Guard Boating Safety: [Boater's Guide to the Federal Requirements](https://www.uscgboating.org/assets/1/AssetManager/Boaters-Guide-to-Federal-Requirements-for-Receational-Boats-20231108.pdf)
- myfwc.com: [Equipment for canoes, kayaks and vessels under 16 feet](https://myfwc.com/boating/safety-education/equipment/vessels-under-16-feet)

---
Last updated: 2026-10-01
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags
How to cite: "Kayak Lights and Flags for Fishing (2026): The Navigation Rule, 360° Lights and Motor Kayaks", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/kayak-paddle/kayak-lights-and-flags (checked 2026-10-01).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.