# Waterproof Phone Cases and Pouches for Fishing (2026): IPX8 Claims, Depth and Time

> Pouches and rugged waterproof cases for anglers, compared on the IP rating, depth and time each maker states, and what IP68 and IPX8 do and don't promise.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-09-29
- Category: dry-storage
- Tags: waterproof phone case, waterproof phone pouch, IP68, IPX8, IEC 60529, floating phone case, kayak fishing phone
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-29.
- Quick answer: For most anglers, buy the Pelican Marine floating pouch: IP68 to 1 m per the listing, a detachable lanyard, and it fits any phone up to 6.1 in. If you want a case you never take off, the OtterBox FRĒ for iPhone 17 or 17 Pro is rated IP68 to 2 m for 60 minutes.

## Key takeaways

- IPX8 has no fixed depth: under IEC 60529 the maker sets the immersion conditions, so read the meters and minutes, not just the code.
- Apple rates the iPhone 17 at IP68 to 6 m for 30 minutes, yet tells owners not to swim with it or submerge it on purpose; liquid damage is not covered by its warranty.
- A case only protects a phone that stays attached to you: use the lanyard or a tether on a kayak.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Pelican Marine IP68 Waterproof Phone Pouch (Regular), Floating, with Lanyard** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B08GHKMR82) — Buy it if you want one pouch that fits any phone you own and floats.
   - Pros: IP68 to 3.3 ft (1 m), per the listing, with a lock mechanism that seals the pouch; Floating pouch with a detachable lanyard for neck or wrist; Clear front and back for the touchscreen and the camera; one-year warranty
   - Cons: Sized for screens up to 6.1 in; Pelican sells a separate XL size for bigger phones
2. **OtterBox iPhone 17 Pro FRĒ Series Waterproof Case** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0FWMN1CTR) — Buy it if you own an iPhone 17 Pro and want a case you never take off.
   - Pros: IP68 to 2 meters for 60 minutes, per the listing; Built-in screen protector, sealed port covers and internal gaskets; a pressure-fitted gasket at the charging port; Drop tested to MIL-STD-810G 516.6, per OtterBox
   - Cons: Fits only the iPhone 17 Pro; you have to open the port cover to charge
3. **OtterBox iPhone 17 FRĒ Series Waterproof Case** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0FWNB12J9) — Buy it if you own an iPhone 17 and fish from a kayak or a small boat.
   - Pros: IP68 to 2 meters for 60 minutes, per the listing; Integrated screen protector and sealed port covers; engineered by LifeProof, the original FRĒ maker
   - Cons: Fits only the standard iPhone 17
4. **Catalyst Total Protection Waterproof Case for iPhone 16 Pro Max** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0DLJF7GHK) — Buy it if you own a 16 Pro Max and want the deepest stated rating here.
   - Pros: Rated by Catalyst as waterproof to 33 ft (10 m); Polycarbonate shell with a TPU layer; 9H screen protector; supports the Camera Control button underwater; Wireless charging through the case, per the listing
   - Cons: Catalyst states a depth but no time; slide gestures on Camera Control don't work in the sealed case

A phone on the water gets splashed, rained on, dropped on a deck and, now and then, dropped over the side. Anglers have two ways to keep one working: a soft pouch that fits any phone and hangs from a lanyard, or a hard case built for one model that stays on all the time. The numbers behind their IP ratings vary more than the labels suggest.

**How we chose:** we did not test these cases; the picks come from maker pages, Amazon listings and the IP code standard, and all four were sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock on September 29, 2026.

## Four cases and pouches by their stated rating

| Case or pouch | Type | Stated rating | Depth and time (per maker or listing) | Fits | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Pelican Marine pouch](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B08GHKMR82) | Soft pouch, floats | IP68 | 1 m (3.3 ft); time not stated | Screens up to 6.1 in | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [OtterBox FRĒ, iPhone 17 Pro](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0FWMN1CTR) | Hard case | IP68 | 2 m for 60 minutes | iPhone 17 Pro | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [OtterBox FRĒ, iPhone 17](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0FWNB12J9) | Hard case | IP68 | 2 m for 60 minutes | iPhone 17 | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Catalyst Total Protection](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases#product-B0DLJF7GHK) | Hard case | "Waterproof" | 10 m (33 ft); time not stated | iPhone 16 Pro Max | Catalyst | see the current Amazon price on the page |

## What IP68 and IPX8 do and don't promise

The IP code comes from IEC 60529. The [IEC](https://www.iec.ch/ip-ratings) describes two numerals: the first rates protection against solids, from 0 to 6 (no ingress of dust), and the second rates protection against liquids, from 0 to 9. The IEC says it created the code to avoid confusion over vague marketing terms like "waterproof."

An X in place of a digit means that property was not rated. So IPX8 says nothing about sand or dust, while IP68 means dust-tight as well, per the summary of the standard in [Wikipedia's IP code article](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_code).

The second digit is where the traps are. Level 7 is a fixed test: immersion to 1 m for 30 minutes. Level 8 is immersion beyond 1 m under conditions "the manufacturer shall specify," per the same summary. Two IPX8 pouches can therefore promise very different things.

The same source notes that ratings above 6 are not cumulative: an IPX7 device is not necessarily rated against the water jets of IPX5 or IPX6. A pouch rated for a dunk has not necessarily been tested against a hose or breaking spray.

That is why the table above lists depth and time, not just the code. OtterBox gives both. Pelican gives a depth. Catalyst gives a depth but calls the case waterproof to 10 m instead of quoting an IP rating on its [product page](https://catalystcase.com/products/iphone-16-pro-max-waterproof-case-total-protection).


## Your phone may already be rated deeper than the case

Apple rates the iPhone 17, iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 16 Pro Max at IP68 under IEC 60529, to a maximum depth of 6 meters for up to 30 minutes, per its [water resistance page](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039). That is deeper than any pouch or case here claims, except Catalyst's.

The same page is why a case still makes sense. Apple says water resistance "might decrease as a result of normal wear," tells owners to avoid swimming with the phone or submerging it on purpose, and says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. It also says to rinse the phone with tap water if a liquid other than water splashes it.

A case or pouch adds what the phone's own rating does not: a lanyard, flotation in the Pelican's case, drop protection in the hard cases, and sealed covers over the ports.

## Pouch or rugged case?

**Buy a pouch** if you switch phones, carry a large Android or a Pro Max, or only want protection on fishing days. The **Pelican Marine** pouch floats, has a lock mechanism and a detachable lanyard, and works with any phone up to 6.1 in per the listing. Pouch listings, Rynapac's among them, say to take the phone out of a bulky case first.

**Buy a rugged case** if the phone is on the water most days and you want to answer calls, take photos and charge without unpacking it. The **OtterBox FRĒ** gives the clearest rating here, 2 m for 60 minutes, for the iPhone 17 and 17 Pro. The **Catalyst Total Protection** claims 33 ft for the iPhone 16 Pro Max.

Hard cases fit one phone model exactly, so check the model name on the listing. Both OtterBox listings describe the watertight seal as something the gaskets create once the case is assembled, so check every cover is shut.


## Floating and lanyards

Only the Pelican pouch is sold as floating, per its listing. The OtterBox and Catalyst listings describe waterproofing and drop protection, not flotation, so a dropped phone in either case sinks unless it is tethered.

On a kayak, clip the lanyard to your life jacket or tie a tether to a deck line. For gear that does not need a screen, a floating roll-top bag works better; our [dry bag guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/best-dry-bags) sets out what each maker says about submersion.

## Pouches we left out

JOTO's IPX8 pouches were sold by a storefront called Tech Vendor, not by Amazon.com or a store in JOTO's name. Nite Ize RunOff pouches, rated IP67, were sold by Pattern Products. Older LifeProof-branded FRĒ cases were offered only by third-party sellers. They may be good pouches; we could not confirm who was shipping them.

We found no CPSC recalls of these four products in the [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls). Our [recall page](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls) lists marine gear recalls since 2023.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Does IPX8 mean a pouch is safe for snorkeling?

Only to the depth and time the maker states, because IPX8 has no fixed test. The Pelican pouch's listing gives 1 m (3.3 ft), while the OtterBox FRĒ is rated to 2 m for 60 minutes; nothing here is a dive housing.

### Why does my touchscreen stop working underwater?

Rynapac's listing warns that water pressure at depth can affect touchscreen response and suggests taking photos with the volume buttons. Catalyst's listing says its sealed case supports Camera Control presses underwater but not slide gestures.

### Should I test a pouch before trusting it with a phone?

Yes. Rynapac's listing, for example, says to seal a paper towel inside and submerge the empty pouch for about 10 minutes before each use. If the towel comes out damp, the seal or the pouch has failed.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.*

## Sources

- International Electrotechnical Commission: [IEC](https://www.iec.ch/ip-ratings)
- en.wikipedia.org: [Wikipedia's IP code article](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_code)
- catalystcase.com: [Product page](https://catalystcase.com/products/iphone-16-pro-max-waterproof-case-total-protection)
- support.apple.com: [Water resistance page](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-29
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases
How to cite: "Waterproof Phone Cases and Pouches for Fishing (2026): IPX8 Claims, Depth and Time", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases (checked 2026-09-29).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.