# Plano vs Flambeau Tackle Boxes (2026): Rustrictor vs Zerust, Gaskets and Sizes Compared

> Plano's Rustrictor boxes against Flambeau's Zerust Tuff Tainers, size for size: gasket and latches, the IPX7 rating, where the rust inhibitor sits and where each is made.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-10-01
- Category: dry-storage
- Tags: Plano vs Flambeau, Plano Rustrictor, Flambeau Zerust, Tuff Tainer, Plano EDGE, StowAway, IPX7 tackle box
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-10-01.
- Quick answer: Choose Plano if you want the one published rating: its Waterproof StowAway 3700 is IPX7, 1 m for 30 minutes, and the EDGE boxes add a desiccant divider. Choose Flambeau if you want three latches on a silicone gasket, inhibitor dividers throughout and a box made in the U.S.A.

## Key takeaways

- Sizes line up: Plano's 3600 and Flambeau's 4000-series boxes are both about 11 x 7.25 in; Plano's 3700 and Flambeau's 5005 are 14 in long.
- Plano puts its Rustrictor inhibitor in the base; Flambeau puts Zerust in the dividers, or in the whole box on its Zerust MAX line.
- Flambeau's Zerust FAQ says the vapor layer holds only in a shut box, ideally with less than one air exchange a day.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Plano EDGE 3600 Tackle Utility Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B07YFBDDSL) — Buy it if you want a 3600 box that pulls moisture out as well as sealing.
   - Pros: Dri-Loc O-ring seal and a WaterWick divider with a reusable moisture-wicking packet, per Plano; Rustrictor inhibitor infused in the base; vented, pre-cut dividers with EZ Label tabs; 11 x 7.25 x 1.63 in, steel-pin hinges and one oversized latch
   - Cons: Plano gives the EDGE's seal no IP code or depth
2. **Flambeau WP4005 Tuff Tainer with Zerust** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B00J5XHHUE) — Buy it if you trust three latches over one and want inhibitor in every divider.
   - Pros: Silicone O-ring gasket closed by three latches, per Flambeau; 11 Zerust dividers, up to 16 compartments; translucent lid and base; 10.79 x 7.20 x 1.89 in; made in the U.S.A., per the listing
   - Cons: No IP code or depth published, so the seal has no rating to compare
3. **Plano StowAway 3700 Waterproof Tackle Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B0F8W8VF6L) — Buy it if the box may go underwater and you want a tested rating on it.
   - Pros: IPX7 rating with an O-ring seal: submersion to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano; Rustricor corrosion-resistant technology and a large reusable label area; 14 x 7.3 x 1.8 in, clear lid, single latch
   - Cons: One latch holds the whole seal; Plano does not say how Rustricor works
4. **Flambeau WP5005 Tuff Tainer with Zerust** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B00J5YTQY8) — Buy it if you want the big size with inhibitor dividers and three latches.
   - Pros: Silicone O-ring gasket and three latches, per Flambeau; 15 Zerust dividers (12 short, 3 long), up to 20 compartments; 14 x 8.89 x 2.1 in; made in the U.S.A., per the listing
   - Cons: Wider than Plano's 3700, so check it fits your bag; no IP code
5. **Plano StowAway 3600 with Rustricor** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B0F8W8GDVQ) — Buy it if the box lives on a shelf and you want inhibitor at the lowest fuss.
   - Pros: Rustricor technology for fresh or salt water, per the listing; 10.8 x 7.3 x 1.8 in with rigid pre-cut dividers and extra divider slots; Clear lid and a reusable label area
   - Cons: No gasket; this is a storage box, not a sealed one
6. **Flambeau Zerust MAX 4004ZM Tuff Tainer** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B07WT67ZJ5) — Buy it if hooks and jigs sit for months and you want inhibitor in every wall.
   - Pros: Zerust infused into the whole box, not just the dividers, per Flambeau; Flambeau states a minimum of 5 years' protection; 11 x 7.25 x 1.75 in, 15 removable dividers and a partial bulk section; made in the U.S.A.
   - Cons: No gasket mentioned; the vapor only works while the lid stays shut

Plano and Flambeau make most of the clear plastic tackle boxes on a saltwater boat, and both now build a rust inhibitor into them. The real differences are how each box seals, where the inhibitor sits, and whether there is a rating behind the word "waterproof." Here they are paired size for size.

**How we chose:** we did not test these boxes; we paired three sizes from each maker and compared what Plano's and Flambeau's pages and listings state. All six were sold by Amazon.com and in stock on October 1, 2026.

## Plano vs Flambeau, size for size

| | Seal | Latches | Rust inhibitor | Rating | Outside size (in) | Made in | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Plano EDGE 3600](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B07YFBDDSL) | Dri-Loc O-ring | 1 | Rustrictor in base, desiccant divider | None stated | 11 x 7.25 x 1.63 | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Flambeau WP4005](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B00J5XHHUE) | Silicone O-ring | 3 | 11 Zerust dividers | None stated | 10.79 x 7.20 x 1.89 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano StowAway 3700 Waterproof](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B0F8W8VF6L) | O-ring | 1 | Rustricor | IPX7 | 14 x 7.3 x 1.8 | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Flambeau WP5005](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B00J5YTQY8) | Silicone O-ring | 3 | 15 Zerust dividers | None stated | 14 x 8.89 x 2.1 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano StowAway 3600 Rustricor](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B0F8W8GDVQ) | None | 1 | Rustricor | None | 10.8 x 7.3 x 1.8 | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Flambeau Zerust MAX 4004ZM](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes#product-B07WT67ZJ5) | None stated | Not stated | Zerust in the whole box | None | 11 x 7.25 x 1.75 | U.S.A. | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |

## The seal: one rating against three latches

Only one box in either lineup comes with an IP code. Plano's [Waterproof StowAway 3700 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/stowaway-waterproof-3700-1638640) says the O-ring gasket gives it an "IPX7 waterproof rating," which the Amazon listing spells out as submersion in up to 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes. That is a test you can hold the box to.

Flambeau's answer is hardware. Both waterproof Tuff Tainers close a silicone O-ring gasket with three latches, which Flambeau's listings say "create a watertight seal." Plano's sealed boxes each use one oversized latch. Three latches spread the clamping along the lid; Flambeau still publishes no depth or time for the result.

The EDGE 3600 sits in between. Plano's [EDGE 3600 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/edge-utility-box-3600-1592543) describes a Dri-Loc watertight seal "to maintain waterproofing when closed," without an IP code. What it adds is a WaterWick divider with a reusable moisture-wicking packet, the only desiccant built into any box here.


## Rustrictor vs Zerust: where the inhibitor sits

Both brands use a vapor corrosion inhibitor (VCI) that gives off a vapor and coats bare metal inside the box. Plano's listing for its Rustrictor StowAway 3500 calls it "360 degrees of Vapor Corrosion Inhibitor"; on the EDGE boxes Plano says Rustrictor is infused in the base. The newer StowAways are listed as "Rustricor," and Plano does not say whether that is the same formula.

Flambeau puts Zerust in the dividers of its standard Tuff Tainers: 11 in the WP4005, 15 in the WP5005. On its Zerust MAX line, the listing says the VCI is "fully-infused into the box," and Flambeau states a minimum of five years' protection. Plano gives no service life for Rustrictor on these boxes.

Flambeau's [Zerust FAQ](https://www.flambeauoutdoors.com/zerust-faq) explains the catch that applies to both. The protective layer holds only while there is "no significant, continuous exchange of air," ideally less than one air exchange a day, and it dissipates from metal within about an hour of leaving the box. A box left open on the console is doing little.


## Sizes, and which bag they fit

The names hide matching sizes. Plano's 3600 series and Flambeau's 4000-series Tuff Tainers are both about 11 by 7.25 in, and Plano's 3700 and the Flambeau WP5005 are both 14 in long. The Flambeau is the wider of the two big boxes, 8.89 in against Plano's 7.3, so it may not slide into a bag sized for 3700 trays.

The EDGE 3600 is the thinnest mid-size box here at 1.63 in; the WP4005 is 1.89 in deep. For hooks and small jigs the depth matters little. For plugs, the deeper Flambeau holds taller baits upright. Our [saltwater tackle bags and boxes guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/saltwater-tackle-bags-and-boxes) covers the bags these trays ride in.

## Warranty and where they are made

Flambeau's listings for the WP4005, the WP5005 and the Zerust MAX 4004ZM each say "Proudly Made in the U.S.A." Plano's listing for its Rustrictor StowAway 3500 says made in the USA, but none of the Plano listings for the boxes in this comparison say where they are made.

Plano's product pages list a Plano Exclusive 1-Year Warranty. We found no warranty statement for these Tuff Tainers on Flambeau's listings.

## Who each one suits

- **Sealed box in a wet boat:** Plano's StowAway 3700 Waterproof, for the IPX7 rating.
- **Sealed box, inhibitor throughout:** Flambeau's WP4005 or WP5005, for the three latches and Zerust dividers.
- **Humid garage or boat storage:** the EDGE 3600, for the desiccant divider.
- **Long-term storage of hooks and jigs:** Flambeau's Zerust MAX, or Plano's plain Rustricor StowAway if the box stays on a shelf.

None of this replaces rinsing and drying first. Our [tackle rust prevention guide](https://saltprooflab.com/gear-care/tackle-rust-prevention) sets out that routine, including Flambeau's warning that wet parts in a Zerust box will still corrode.

We found no recalls for Plano or Flambeau in our [recall list](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls), which covers CPSC notices since 2023.

Related: [Pelican vs Plano dry boxes](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes), [dry boxes for boats](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Can I put a Zerust divider in a Plano box?

Yes. Flambeau sells a stand-alone Zerust Plaque (it is in our [rust prevention guide](https://saltprooflab.com/gear-care/tackle-rust-prevention)), and its FAQ says the vapor works in any enclosure with few air exchanges, so a gasketed Plano is a good home for one.

### Do these boxes float?

Neither maker says. Plano's IPX7 rating covers water getting in during a 1 m, 30-minute immersion, not whether the box floats, and Flambeau publishes no buoyancy figure for its Tuff Tainers.

### Is Rustricor the same as Rustrictor?

Plano does not say. The older StowAway and EDGE listings use "Rustrictor"; the redesigned StowAway listings use "Rustricor" and describe it as corrosion-resistant technology, without calling it a VCI.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.*

## Sources

- planooutdoors.com: [Waterproof StowAway 3700 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/stowaway-waterproof-3700-1638640)
- planooutdoors.com: [EDGE 3600 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/edge-utility-box-3600-1592543)
- flambeauoutdoors.com: [Zerust FAQ](https://www.flambeauoutdoors.com/zerust-faq)

---
Last updated: 2026-10-01
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes
How to cite: "Plano vs Flambeau Tackle Boxes (2026): Rustrictor vs Zerust, Gaskets and Sizes Compared", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/plano-vs-flambeau-tackle-boxes (checked 2026-10-01).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.