# Pelican vs Plano Dry Boxes (2026): Ratings, Valves, Room Inside and Warranty

> Pelican micro and Protector cases against Plano Guide Series boxes on what each maker states: submersion rating, pressure valve, buoyancy, interior size and warranty.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-09-30
- Category: dry-storage
- Tags: Pelican vs Plano, Pelican, Plano, dry box, Pelican 1040, Pelican 1170, Plano Guide Series, IP67
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-30.
- Quick answer: Choose Pelican if you want a named IP67 rating, an automatic pressure valve, a published buoyancy figure and a lifetime guarantee. Choose Plano's Guide Series if you want more room inside for the size and a clear lid; Plano rates it to 1 m for 30 minutes but lists no IP code, valve or buoyancy.

## Key takeaways

- Plano's 3500 holds more than Pelican's 1040 inside (7.5 x 3.125 x 2.5 in against 6.50 x 3.87 x 1.75 in) for a slightly larger shell.
- Pelican prints a buoyancy figure for every case here; Plano does not say whether its Guide Series floats.
- Plano's own store lists a 1-year warranty; Pelican offers its Lifetime Guarantee of Excellence where the law allows.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Pelican 1040 Micro Case** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B00152PF4I) — Buy it if you want the lightest rated box that clips to a kayak deck line.
   - Pros: IP67: submersion under 1 m of water for up to 30 minutes, per Pelican; Automatic pressure equalization valve; rubber liner doubles as the O-ring seal; Pelican lists 1.26 lb of buoyancy; carabiner and stainless steel pins
   - Cons: Interior is only 1.75 in deep, per Pelican
2. **Plano Guide Series 3500 Field Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003JFOZH2) — Buy it if a phone plus a spare battery will not fit a Pelican micro case.
   - Pros: Submersible to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano; Dri-Loc O-ring, three cam-action latches and a wrist strap; Interior 7.5 x 3.125 x 2.5 in with a slip-resistant rubber pad
   - Cons: No IP code, pressure valve or buoyancy figure published by Plano
3. **Pelican 1170 Protector Case with Foam** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003HGW8SG) — Buy it if the box carries a camera or electronics that need a cut-foam bed.
   - Pros: IP67 rated with a silicone O-ring lid and an automatic purge valve, per Pelican; Pick N Pluck foam, double-throw latches and stainless steel hardware; Pelican lists 7.25 lb of buoyancy and a -40°F to 190°F rating
   - Cons: Weighs 2.25 lb, and the foam takes up much of the 10.54 x 6.04 x 3.16 in interior
4. **Plano Guide Series 3600 Field Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003FYMVXM) — Buy it if you want the most room of the four and can see your gear through the lid.
   - Pros: Submersible to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano; Clear polycarbonate lid, Dri-Loc O-ring and cam-action latches; Interior 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 in, per Plano
   - Cons: Plano states no buoyancy, and its store lists a 1-year warranty

Pelican and Plano both sell small latching boxes to anglers, and both put a submersion claim on them. The difference is how much each maker spells out: Pelican names the IP code, the valve and the buoyancy, while Plano gives a depth and time and more room for the size. Both brands were sold by Amazon.com, so every box compared here has a card.

**How we chose:** we did not test these boxes; we paired two sizes from each brand and compared the specs on Pelican's and Plano's product pages, checking that Amazon.com sold all four in stock on September 30, 2026.

## Pelican vs Plano, spec by spec

| Box | Water rating | Interior (in) | Exterior (in) | Pressure valve | Buoyancy | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Pelican 1040](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B00152PF4I) | IP67 (1 m, 30 min) | 6.50 x 3.87 x 1.75 | 7.5 x 5.06 x 2.12 | Yes | 1.26 lb | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano 3500](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003JFOZH2) | 1 m, 30 min | 7.5 x 3.125 x 2.5 | 9 x 4.875 x 3 | Not listed | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Pelican 1170](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003HGW8SG) | IP67 | 10.54 x 6.04 x 3.16 | 11.64 x 8.34 x 3.78 | Yes | 7.25 lb | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano 3600](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes#product-B003FYMVXM) | 1 m, 30 min | 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 | 10.88 x 7.25 x 4.13 | Not listed | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |

Pelican's figures are from its [1040](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1040) and [1170](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/protector/1170) pages; Plano's are from its [Guide Series 3500](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3500-1592625) and [3600](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3600-1592626) pages.

## The water claim: a named test against a depth and time

Pelican ties its micro case claim to a standard. The 1040 page says the case "is able to be submerged under 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes in accordance with IP67 testing parameters," and Pelican posts an IP67 certificate for the micro cases. The 1170 page calls the Protector case "IP67-rated waterproof and dustproof."

Plano's claim is plain: Guide Series cases are "submersible to 1 meter for up to 30 minutes," and contents stay safe "even if they go overboard." The depth and time match an IP67 figure, but Plano does not name the standard, so treat it as Plano's own rating.

## Room inside for the size

This is where Plano wins on paper. The 3500 is 1.5 in longer outside than the 1040 but gives you 0.75 in more depth inside, per the two makers' dimensions, enough for a phone stacked on a small battery pack. The 3600 against the 1170 is closer: the Pelican is longer and wider inside, the Plano is deeper.

The 1170's figure includes room its foam fills. Pelican ships it with Pick N Pluck foam and a convoluted lid liner, and sells it without foam too. For a camera or a handheld VHF that should not rattle, the foam is the point; for loose gear, the Plano's open interior with a rubber pad holds more.


## Valves, seals and what happens if it goes over

Pelican puts an automatic pressure equalization valve in both the 1040 and the 1170, which it says "balances interior pressure, keeps water out." Plano calls its Guide Series cases airtight and lists a Dri-Loc O-ring and cam-action latches, but no valve.

Pelican also publishes a buoyancy figure for each case, which is the closest thing to a floating claim either brand makes: 1.26 lb for the 1040 and 7.25 lb for the 1170, per Pelican. Plano's pages say nothing about floating, so on a kayak tie a Plano box to the deck either way. Our [dry box guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats) covers leashing and which boxes their makers say float.

## Warranty and where they are made

Pelican lists a Limited Lifetime Warranty on the 1040 and 1170 pages, its "Lifetime Guarantee of Excellence," with the note "where applicable by law." Pelican says the 1170 is made in the USA, and the 1040's Amazon listing says the same.

Plano's own store lists a "Plano Exclusive 1-Year Warranty" on the [Guide Series 3500 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3500-1592625). Plano does not state where the Guide Series cases are made.


## Who each one suits

**Choose Pelican if:**
- you want a rating tied to IP67 and a pressure valve;
- the box rides on a kayak and you want the maker's buoyancy figure before you trust it;
- a lifetime guarantee matters more to you than interior room.

**Choose Plano if:**
- you want the most interior space for the outside size;
- a clear lid that shows what is inside is worth more than a valve;
- the box stays inside a boat or a tackle bag, where a 1 m, 30 minute rating is plenty.

For soft gear, a roll-top bag packs better than either; see our [dry bag guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/best-dry-bags).

## Recalls

We found no recall of Pelican or Plano cases in the CPSC and FDA marine records our [recall tracker](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls) collects from January 2023. You can search both brands in the [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Does Pelican make a floating dry box for kayaks?

Pelican does not use the word "floats" on the pages we read, but it lists a positive buoyancy figure for each case, such as 1.74 lb for the [1050 Micro Case](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1050), which is the 1040's deeper sibling.

### Can I replace the O-ring on a Pelican case?

On the Protector cases, yes. Pelican sells a 1173 replacement O-ring as an accessory on its [1170 page](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/protector/1170). On the micro cases the rubber liner is the seal.

### Is there a bigger Plano Guide Series box?

Yes. Plano's store lists a [Guide Series 3700 case](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3700-1592627) above the 3600, alongside a smaller 3400.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Specs are Pelican's and Plano's own, from their product pages.*

## Sources

- pelican.com: [1040](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1040)
- pelican.com: [1170](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/protector/1170)
- planooutdoors.com: [Guide Series 3500](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3500-1592625)
- planooutdoors.com: [3600](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3600-1592626)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls)
- pelican.com: [1050 Micro Case](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1050)
- planooutdoors.com: [Guide Series 3700 case](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3700-1592627)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-30
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes
How to cite: "Pelican vs Plano Dry Boxes (2026): Ratings, Valves, Room Inside and Warranty", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes (checked 2026-09-30).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.