# Dry Boxes for Boats and Kayaks (2026): IP Ratings, O-Rings and Which Ones Float

> Five hard dry boxes for boats and kayaks compared on the water rating each maker states, O-ring seals, purge valves, interior size and which ones are said to float.

- Source: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats
- Publisher: SaltProofLab (https://saltprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-09-30
- Category: dry-storage
- Tags: dry box, waterproof case, kayak dry box, boat dry box, IP67, IP68, Pelican micro case, Plano Guide Series
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-30.
- Quick answer: For a phone, keys and wallet on a kayak or skiff, buy the Pelican 1050 Micro Case: rated IP67 (1 m for 30 minutes, per Pelican), with a pressure valve and a stated buoyancy of 1.74 lb. For more room, the clear Plano Guide Series 3600 is submersible to 1 m for 30 minutes, per Plano.

## Key takeaways

- Pelican spells out its ratings: IP67 on the micro cases means 1 m for 30 minutes, and the Ruck R40's IP68 means 2 m for 30 minutes.
- MTM calls its Survivor box water-resistant, not waterproof, and Plano says its 1312 marine box is not meant to go under water.
- Only three makers here say anything about floating: Pelican lists a buoyancy figure, MTM says the Survivor floats, and Plano's Guide Series page is silent.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Pelican 1050 Micro Case** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B001PYL1BM) — Buy it if the box rides on a kayak deck and must hold a phone through a swim.
   - Pros: IP67, which Pelican defines as submersion under 1 m of water for up to 30 minutes; Automatic pressure equalization valve and a rubber liner that doubles as the O-ring seal; Pelican lists a buoyancy of 1.74 lb; carabiner and stainless steel hinge pins included
   - Cons: Interior is 6.31 x 3.68 x 2.75 in, so a large phone and a wallet are about the limit
2. **Plano Guide Series 3600 Field Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B003FYMVXM) — Buy it if you want a roomier clear box that Plano rates for a short dunking.
   - Pros: Submersible to 1 m for up to 30 minutes, per Plano, with a Dri-Loc O-ring and three cam-action latches; Clear polycarbonate lid, so you can see what is inside without opening it; Interior 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 in with a slip-resistant rubber pad and a wrist strap
   - Cons: Plano states no buoyancy figure and no IP code for the case
3. **Pelican Ruck R40 Case** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B07N84P3SH) — Buy it if you want the deepest stated rating here and an organized lid.
   - Pros: IP68, which Pelican states as 2 m of water for up to 30 minutes; Built-in pressure valve, rubberized bumpers and a dual-pivot hinge latch, per Pelican; Lid organizer with MOLLE-style loops and a rigid divider tray; Pelican lists 2.36 lb of buoyancy
   - Cons: At 1.77 lb it is more than twice the weight of the 1050, for a similar depth of interior
4. **MTM Survivor Dry Box, Large** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B002KENWZY) — Buy it for a floating spares or first aid box that stays above water.
   - Pros: Tongue-and-groove O-ring and three latches; MTM lists 'floats' among its features; Built-in compass and signaling mirror, padlock tabs, lanyard and strap points; Inside dimensions 8.2 x 5.0 x 4.4 in, per MTM
   - Cons: MTM says plainly that Survivor boxes are "water-resistant not water proof"
5. **Plano 1312 Dry Storage Emergency Marine Box** (details: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B009YSFT7S) — Buy it for spray-proof storage that lives inside a boat, not on a kayak deck.
   - Pros: O-ring seal, oversized handle and top-access storage, per the listing; Molded in orange so it is easy to find in a cluttered hatch; made in the USA
   - Cons: The listing says the O-ring seal is water-resistant and not intended to be submersed

A dry box is the hard-shell cousin of a dry bag: it will not squash a phone in a hatch or crack under a cooler, and most of them latch shut with an O-ring. What changes from box to box is what the maker promises about water, and whether the box floats if it goes over the side.

**How we chose:** we did not test these boxes; we compared the water ratings, dimensions and buoyancy figures Pelican, Plano and MTM publish, and kept boxes sold by Amazon.com and in stock on September 30, 2026.

## Five dry boxes side by side

| Box | Water rating (maker's words) | Interior (in) | Floats? | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Pelican 1050 Micro Case](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B001PYL1BM) | IP67: 1 m for 30 min | 6.31 x 3.68 x 2.75 | Buoyancy 1.74 lb listed | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano Guide Series 3600](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B003FYMVXM) | Submersible to 1 m for 30 min | 9 x 5.25 x 3.625 | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Pelican Ruck R40](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B07N84P3SH) | IP68: 2 m for 30 min | 7.63 x 4.70 x 1.90 | Buoyancy 2.36 lb listed | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [MTM Survivor, Large](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B002KENWZY) | Water-resistant only, per MTM | 8.2 x 5.0 x 4.4 | "Floats," per MTM | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Plano 1312 Marine Box](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats#product-B009YSFT7S) | Water-resistant; not for submersion | Not published | Not stated | Amazon.com | see the current Amazon price on the page |

Pelican's figures come from its [1050](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1050) and [R40](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/personal-utility/r40) product pages, Plano's from its [Guide Series 3600 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3600-1592626), and MTM's from its [Survivor Dry Box page](https://mtmcase-gard.com/products/survivor-dry-box-large-10x7x5-inch). The 1312 figures are from its Amazon listing.

## What IP67 and IP68 mean on these boxes

An IP code comes from the IEC 60529 standard; the [IEC](https://www.iec.ch/ip-ratings) explains that the second numeral rates an enclosure's protection against liquids. A 7 is a temporary immersion test. An 8 is continuous immersion under conditions the maker sets, which is why an IP68 claim means little until the maker names a depth and time.

Pelican does name them. Its [1040 and 1050 micro case pages](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1040) say the case can be submerged under 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes "in accordance with IP67 testing parameters." The Ruck R40 page says IP68 and "waterproof to a depth of 2 meters for up to 30 minutes."

Plano gives a depth and time without an IP code: the Guide Series cases are "submersible to 1 meter for up to 30 minutes," and Plano adds that contents stay safe "even if they go overboard." That matches the IP67 figure on paper, but it is Plano's own claim rather than a named test.


## O-rings, latches and pressure valves

Every box here closes on an O-ring or a rubber liner that works as one. Pelican's micro cases use the liner itself as the seal; Plano calls its gasket Dri-Loc and closes it with three cam-action latches; MTM uses a tongue-and-groove O-ring with three latches.

The two Pelicans add an automatic pressure equalization valve. Pelican says the valve "balances interior pressure, keeps water out," which matters for a box that bakes on a console and then cools, or rides in a truck over a mountain pass to the coast. None of the Plano or MTM boxes lists a valve.

A seal is only as good as what sits on it. Wipe sand and salt crystals off the O-ring before you close the lid, and check the liner for cuts; Pelican sells a replacement O-ring for its [1170 Protector case](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/protector/1170), which tells you the seal is a wear part.

## Will it float?

Do not assume a sealed box floats; check what the maker says. Pelican lists a buoyancy figure on each case page: 1.74 lb for the 1050 and 2.36 lb for the R40. MTM lists "floats" among the Survivor's features. Plano's Guide Series and 1312 pages say nothing about floating.

A buoyancy figure is the upward force of the empty case, so a box packed with a heavy phone, keys and a multitool has less margin. On a kayak, clip the box to a deck line or pad eye whether or not it floats; Pelican ships its micro cases with a carabiner for that reason.

## Which box for which boat

On a sit-on-top kayak, the **Pelican 1050** is the one to clip on deck: it has the rating, the valve and a stated buoyancy in the smallest shell. If you often flip or launch through surf, the **Ruck R40** has the deeper IP68 figure. A phone you want to use on the water belongs in a pouch instead; see our [waterproof phone case guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/waterproof-phone-cases).

On a skiff or center console, the **Plano Guide Series 3600** gives you the most room of the rated boxes and a clear lid. The **MTM Survivor** suits a small floating kit: a spare phone battery, a knife, a whistle and a headlamp. The **Plano 1312** is a spray-proof locker for spares inside a hatch.

Soft gear such as a jacket or a first aid kit packs better in a roll-top; our [dry bag guide](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/best-dry-bags) covers those. If you are choosing between the two big brands, our [Pelican vs Plano comparison](https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/pelican-vs-plano-dry-boxes) sets their micro and medium boxes side by side.


Related: [USCG required safety equipment](https://saltprooflab.com/life-jackets-safety/uscg-required-safety-equipment) lists the signals and extinguisher a box like the Plano 1312 might hold.

## Recalls

We found no recall of Pelican, Plano or MTM dry boxes in the CPSC and FDA marine records our [recall tracker](https://saltprooflab.com/recalls) collects from January 2023. You can search any brand in the [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Should I put a desiccant pack in a dry box?

Yes, if the box stays shut between trips. Pelican sells a 1500D silica gel desiccant as an accessory on its [micro case pages](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1050), which is a sign that moisture trapped when you close the lid on a humid day can condense inside a sealed case.

### How hot can a dry box get on a console?

Pelican rates the 1040, 1050 and R40 for a maximum of 199°F and a minimum of -10°F, per its [R40 page](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/personal-utility/r40). Plano and MTM publish no temperature range for these boxes.

### Is a clear lid weaker than a solid one?

The makers do not say it is. Pelican builds its clear micro case bodies from polycarbonate and describes them as crushproof, and Plano's Amazon listing calls the Guide Series case impact-resistant, crush-proof polycarbonate. Neither publishes a crush load figure.

---

*SaltProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.*

## Sources

- pelican.com: [1050](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1050)
- pelican.com: [R40](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/personal-utility/r40)
- planooutdoors.com: [Guide Series 3600 page](https://www.planooutdoors.com/products/guide-series-waterproof-case-3600-1592626)
- mtmcase-gard.com: [Survivor Dry Box page](https://mtmcase-gard.com/products/survivor-dry-box-large-10x7x5-inch)
- International Electrotechnical Commission: [IEC](https://www.iec.ch/ip-ratings)
- pelican.com: [1040 and 1050 micro case pages](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/micro/1040)
- pelican.com: [1170 Protector case](https://www.pelican.com/us/en/product/cases/protector/1170)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC recall database](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-30
Canonical URL: https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats
How to cite: "Dry Boxes for Boats and Kayaks (2026): IP Ratings, O-Rings and Which Ones Float", SaltProofLab, https://saltprooflab.com/dry-storage/dry-boxes-for-boats (checked 2026-09-30).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate SaltProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.